Jimmy McCune in victory lane at Oswego Speedway. - David Sink Photo
From David Sink

Oswego, NY – (July 7, 2012) – Jimmy McCune claimed his first TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series (MSRXSS) of the year Saturday night at the legendary Oswego Speedway before a packed house. The series was making its second appearance of a trip through the state of New York that began two nights earlier at Shangri-La II Speedway. The MSRXSS was participating for the first-time-ever at Oswego and the annual ‘ King of Wings ‘ event.

The fireworks began earlier in the night when Jason Cox bested the existing all-time track record of 15.198 seconds previously held by Supermodified driver Chris Perley. Cox turned a lap of 15.125 seconds to claim the new track record. There had been speculation all week from fans, media, and competitors leading up to the event as to whether or not a Sprint Car would break the track record. The MSRXSS is known as
‘ The Fastest Short Track Cars in the World ‘ and have broken the track record at 6 of 7 events entering Saturday’s Oswego event. Cox’s record breaking qualifying run drew a mixed reaction from the predominately Supermodifed fan base on hand.

After qualifying, track officials announced to the crowd that they would allow the two fastest ISMA Supermodifieds, Mike Lichty and Rob Summers, a chance to reclaim the track record. Each driver was given “gumball” tires that were far softer than the tires they qualified on in an attempt to reclaim the record. To the disappointment of the Supermodified faithful, the record would stand. It was now apparent to everyone in attendance that the Sprint Cars are far superior and arguably the baddest open wheel machines in the country, and now the Northeast.

Heat races were won by Jimmy McCune and Dave Baumgartner.

Pole sitter Dave Baumgartner lead the opening lap and surrendered the lead to McCune on lap two. McCune never relinquished the lead the remainder of the thirty-lap affair despite engine issues over the final seven circuits. McCune gave car owner Suellen Wilshe her third MSRXSS win of the 2012 season. A happy McCune explained what an up and down night he experienced. “On the start I spun the tires and got sideways a little bit. Baumgartner got a jump on me and I just followed in behind him. Once my tires came up to temperature I got a run on him down the backstretch and got past him going into three. After that I just made laps. I could see a lot of things going on. I could see what lap it was and couldn’t hear anybody for a long time. We dropped a cylinder with probably eight or ten to go. I was thinking I’m gonna loose Oswego because this motor’s gonna puke running away with this race” laughed McCune.” But she stuck together and we won. I cant thank my guys enough. They worked their tails off all day” concluded McCune. Baumgartner finished second followed by Mike Larrison, Aaron Pierce, and Jacob Wilson rounding out the top five.

New track record holder Jason Cox struggled to a ninth place finish after starting tenth.” It was a one groove racetrack and you couldn’t get on the outside to pass anybody” explained Cox.” Everybody was pretty much equal. Where you started was pretty much where you finished. It was pretty much one of those bummer races, but that’s what you gotta do sometimes”.

The race went green to checkered with two lead changes. There were eleven cars on the lead lap at the conclusion of the race.

The MSRXSS will next be in action at Kalamazoo Speedway in Kalamazoo, MI July 14 for the ‘ Must See Racing 50 ‘. Brain Gerster is the defending champion of the race.

For more information on the MSRXSS log onto

1. Jimmy McCune
2. Dave Baumgartner
3. Mike Larrison
4. Aaron Pierce
5. Jacob Wilson
6. Brian Gerster
7. Jo Jo Helberg
8. Troy DeCaire
9. Jason Cox
10. Brian Olson
11. Sondi Eden
12. Jerry Caryer
13. Jeff Bloom
14. Tim Cox