selinsgrove speedway

By Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway’s regular four divisions, the 358 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners, will be back at the historic half-mile oval this Saturday, Aug. 18, on Reinhart Food Service Night. Track gates will open at 5 p.m. and racing will begin at 7:30 p.m.

The A&A Auto Stores 358 sprint cars will compete in a 25-lap main event paying $1,500 to win. In the season standings, former two-time champion Pat Cannon of Etters, a five-time winner at the track this season, holds a 380-point lead over three-time winner and former champion Jason Shultz of Carlisle. Derek Locke of Mechaniscburg, first-time winner Cody Keller of Selinsgrove, and two-time winner TJ Stutts of Liverpool are in the top five in the point standings.

The Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center late models will race in a 25-lap feature paying $1,200 to win. Seven-time champion Jeff Rine of Danville leads the standings by 460 points over Jim Bernheisel of Lebanon, who took over the second position following his fifth-place finish in Saturday night’s race. One-time winner Steve Campbell of Danville, three-time winner Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, and Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove hold down the top five spots.

After a one-week hiatus, the Salem RV Center/Byers Built Engines pro stocks return this weekend in a 15-lap feature paying $400 to win. Two-time defending champion and four-time winner AJ Hoffman of Richfield has a narrow 290-point lead over rookie and five-time winner Hayes Mattern of Beavertown. One-time winner Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove, two-time winner Jason Smith of Williamsport, and rookie Nathan Long of Selinsgrove are in the top five in the standings.

The Collier Paving & Construction roadrunners will compete in two 12-lap features this Saturday, one of which is a makeup event from July 21. Defending champion and seven-time winner Bob Bussey of Northumberland holds a commanding 660-point lead over Curtis Lawton of Danville. Matt Lawrence, one-time winner Dustin Snook, and two-time winner Brian Johnson of Ashland are in the top five.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will be in action at 7 p.m. this Friday, Aug. 17, with a program of go kart and micro sprint car racing. The Animal 375 lb. class will compete in a 25-lap pro series race paying $500 to win. In the Selinsgrove Ford 270 micro sprint car standings, Nathan Ritter of Selinsgrove holds a mere 60-point lead over Tyler Snook of Beavertown. David Utt of Bloomsburg is only 90 points behind the leader in the third position. Each of the top three drivers has three wins this season and is seeking his first career micro sprint car track championship.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999.