trail-way speedway trail way logo

trail-way speedway trail way logoFrom Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA — (August 31, 2012) — You could say most sprint car drivers only have this kind of night once in a blue moon.

It was a big night for Abbottstown’s Mike Bittinger, who scored his first win of the year, closed to within five points of Kyle Moody for the Trail-Way points lead, and won the Lincoln/Trail-Way “Shootout” in the 358 sprint car feature Friday night.

Bittinger started on the pole and led all 25 laps to score his 13th career win, fourth on the Trail-Way all-time win list.

“Wow! What can I say? Dad drew two really good numbers tonight,” said Bittinger upon exiting his Blueberry Hill Farms/CnP Farms/Drummer Boy Campsite #12 in victory lane, “Mark Smith was in my heat race, and I told him I was going to jump him on the start because I needed every point I can get.’

Bittinger’s win in both his heat and the feature combined with Moody’s sixth-place finish in the feature closed the gap by 17 points to five with just three points races left on the 2012 Trail-Way schedule.

Tim Wagaman started third and was scored second every lap, with Ryan Wilson, Steve Owings, and Zach Euculano completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Moody, Lincoln “Shootout” winner Scott Fisher, Austin Hogue, Keith Prutzman, and hard charger Joe Trone, Jr. rounding out the top ten.

Finishing second through fifth in the two-night “Shootout,” which paid bonus money to the top ten drivers in combined two-night finishes between Lincoln on August 17th and Trail-Way tonight, were Fisher, Wilson, Wagaman, and Nathan Berwager.

Heats for the 20 “358” sprint cars were won by Bittinger, Hogue, and Euculano.

Dan Furman started fourth and was scored the leader of every lap in claiming the 20-lap Extreme Stock feature. With the win, Furman qualified for the October 19th Miller Fall Classic at Susquehanna Speedway Park.

Tim Hahn, Justin Mitchell, Larry Landis, and Michael Goodwin completed the top five.

Heats for the 12 Extreme Stocks were won by Mitchell and Furman.

Point leader Kyle Rohrbaugh came from ninth starting spot to score his fifth win of the year in the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Rohrbaugh’s win broke the Chronister brother win streak that had lasted on both Friday and Saturday nights during the entire month of August. Matt and Jason Chronister dropped into the infield at the exact same time on lap four, ending both of their nights.

Allen Haines crossed second, followed by Ricky Weaver, Jr., Nick McDaniel, and Cory Weishaar.

Heats for the 19 limited stocks were won by Weaver and Matt Chronister.

Saturday (9/1), Trail-Way will host the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints. Also on the schedule are the Limited Stocks, Scramble Cars, Classic Cars and Penn Mar Vintage Cars. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Next Friday (9/7), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars, Extreme Stocks, and Limited Stocks. Pro Painters has put up extra money for the top five finishers in the Extreme Stocks and will award trophies to the top three drivers. It is also a Fantasy Fan Contest night. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

Next Saturday (9/8), Trail-Way will host the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints. Also on the schedule are the Scramble Cars, Strictly Stocks and Central PA Legends Cars. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:30 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.

Trail-Way Speedway August 31, 2012


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 12-Mike Bittinger; 2. 1-Tim Wagaman; 3. 29-Ryan Wilson; 4. 35-Steve Owings; 5. 10-Zach Euculano; 6. 99M-Kyle Moody; 7. 21-Scott Fisher; 8. 52-Austin Hogue; 9. 28-Keith Prutzman; 10. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 11. 85-Nathan Berwager; 12. 64-Randy Whisler; 13. 33-Brad Gleason; 14. 6R-Brad McClelland(DNF); 15. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh(DNF); 16. 69-Shane Hoff(DNF); 17. 89-Ashley Cappetta(DNF); 18. M1-Mark Smith(DNF); 19. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer(DNF); DNS: 3W-Clair Wintermyer. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Mike Bittinger (1-25).

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 12-Mike Bittinger; 2. M1-Mark Smith; 3. 99M-Kyle Moody; 4. 21-Scott Fisher; 5. 28-Keith Prutzman; 6. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 7. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.. Time 2:22.69.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 69-Shane Hoff; 5. 33-Brad Gleason; 6. 64-Randy Whisler; 7. 3W-Clair Wintermyer(DNF). No Time.

Heat 3 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 10-Zach Euculano; 2. 35-Steve Owings; 3. 1-Tim Wagaman; 4. 29-Ryan Smith; 5. 85-Nathan Berwager; 6. 89-Ashley Cappetta(DNF). Time 2:28.87.