Fremont Speedway to Crown Champions at Awards Banquet

fremont speedway 2012 logo

fremont speedway 2012 logoFrom Brian Liskai


Fremont, OH — (October, 22, 2012) — Fremont Speedway will wrap up its 61st season by honoring the race teams who finished in the top 10 in points in 2012 at an awards banquet at Ole Zim’s Wagon Shed, St. Rt. 590, Gibsonburg, on Saturday, Nov. 17. Doors will open at 5 p.m. with a family-style meal being served at 6 p.m. with the awards ceremony following.


Tickets are $25 each and must be purchased by Nov. 12; there will be no tickets sold at the door. Contact Fremont Speedway Promoter Rich Farmer at 419-307-4241 to purchase tickets. Farmer will also have tickets available at the Racers’ Swam Meet at the Sandusky County Fairgrounds in Fremont on Oct. 27.


In the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprints, Craig Mintz earned his second track championship in the last three years. Three time track champion Byron Reed finished second in the points followed by two time track champion Mike Linder, Phil Gressman, Chris Andrews, Brian Smith, Stuart Brubaker, Dean Jacobs, 2011 track champion Bryan Sebetto and Jody Keegan. Brubaker will be crowned the division’s rookie of the year.


In the Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints, D.J. Foos earned his first ever Fremont championship with former 410 track champion John Ivy second and Nate Dussel third. Rounding out the top 10 were Dustin Dinan, Jamie Miller, Jason Keckler, Jimmy Colvin, Alvin Roepke, Jess Stiger and Tyler Gunn. Gunn will be crowned the division’s rookie of the year.


In the Fremont Fence Dirt Trucks, the track’s all-time winningest driver Art Ball earned his second straight track title and the fourth of his career at the track as he also scored two late model titles. Dan Roepke Jr. was second with former track champion Cory Ward third. Rounding out the top 10 were Kent Brewer, Dustin Keegan, Brian Sorg, Keith Sorg, four time track champion Steve Sabo, John Ivy and Brad Mitten rounding out the top 10. Brian Melnek Jr. will be crowned the track’s rookie of the year.


In the Surf’n Sweepstakes Sport Compacts, Brandon Myers will be crowned the track champion for the first year division. Steve Pocock, Chevy Farmer, Tyler Sherman, Amanda Shammo, Erik Paulson, Kyle Farmer, Derek Genzman, Kelsey Ivy and Trent Laird round out the top 10 in points.


For more information go to