Danny Smith Wins Again with OCRS

Danny Smith celebrates his second straight win. - Mike Spivey Photo
Danny Smith celebrates his second straight win. - Mike Spivey Photo
Danny Smith celebrates his second straight win. – Mike Spivey Photo

From John Lemon


Meeker, OK — (June 28, 2013) — In night that saw crash after crash after crash, it was the cagy veteran, Danny Smith, that emerged as the ultimate survivor in the 25-lap affair at the Brill Motor Speedway in the Oil Capital Racing Series non-wing sprint car event. As humid and hot as the night was, tempers throughout the combatants were prevalent as well.


Smith would start tenth in his Same Day Auto Repair / Dyno Services of Oklahoma / XXX railed sprinter and was one of but a few drivers to patiently work both the track and the field on his way to becoming the second driver in the series to win multiple main events. Harli White has three wins.


It was non wing specialist Cody Brewer getting a jump on the 20 car field at the start in the Napa Auto Parts / Kens Automotive / John Smith Chevy / XXX car. Brewer would lead the first four trips around the red 3/8-mile oval until Koby Barksdale would work his way past Brewer going into turn one to start the fifth lap.


The first yellow of the race would fly on lap six when point leader White would spin to a stop in turns three and four. On the restart, Kyle Clark would get crossed up in turn four and a wild carnage would take place as the cars of Alex Sewell and Kade Morton would flip through the air and Brian (B-Mac) McClelland would plow into Clark’s machine. Everyone would be OK but Sewell, Morton and Clark would have to head pitside while B-Mac would restart at the rear.


Smith would restart in the fourth spot but he didn’t care to stay there as he shot into second as the leaders went through turn two and found himself looking at the bumper of Barksdale. A lap later, the yellow hanky would fall again as Tim Kent, who was in the Kevin and Dena Risley #24 mount for the evening, would spin in turn two.


Smith took the lead from Barksdale going down the backstretch of lap seven. The yellow was displayed another time when Sulpher’s Chuck Bellefeuille spun on the backstretch and T. Kent would spin to a stop as well in turn four. The next restart would see Johnny “Hotrod” Kent pass Tri-State Speedway feature winner Alex Decamp for the fourth spot in turn one. Working the start of lap eleven, J. Kent would slide by Barksdale at the flagstand. The next lap saw DeCamp take a stab at j. Kent down low and the two cars made contact with each executing 360 spins and each motoring on. However, the yellow still flew as Fred Mattox lost a u-joint while coming down the front straight and rolled to a stop in turn one. Robert Sellers would stop in turn two behind the spinning duo of Decamp and Kent.


J. Kent overtook Barksdale for the runner-up spot on the backstretch during the restart of lap 12. Two laps latter, White and McClelland would have contact with one another that left White stopped in turn four. McClelland would be black flagged as he was cited for rough driving. White would restart at the rear yet again.


White was working her way through the field and by lap 17, she was back up to fifth. On lap 19, White nudged her way past Brewer in turn one for the fourth position. While Smith was sailing along, J. Kent and Decamp were in a heated battle for second. DeCamp would move Past J. Kent with two laps to go while White would get by J. Kent at the line to start the last lap.


Smith held tough for his back-to-back triumph with Decamp second in the Morton Excavating / STK Racing Engines / Eagle. White, by virtue of starting eleventh originally and then going to the rear twice passed more cars than seen in sometime in one feature event for the third spot in her Jerry Tucker Roustabout / Terraco Soil Farming / Boyd Racing Engines / Maxim. “Hotrod” brought the Kent Construction / Care Family Medical / Kent Engines / Eagle in for fourth with the top five being rounded out by Cody Brewer.


Joshua Tyre was the AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Hard Charger by improving eleven positions. Chance Morton was the Dyno Services of Oklahoma Hard Luck recipient. The next event for the OCRS travelers is Saturday night at the famed Lawton Speedway where the wings will be back on top of the 1500 pound missiles. Race time is set to go at 8:30 pm.


OCRS thanks the following sponsors for their support of the non-wing portion of the 2013 racing season:

Eagle Motorsports

Grand Prix Auto Center

Allen Competition Engines

Maxwell Oil

Morton Excavating

Racing Optics

R&M Race Trailers

Shock Doc

Smiley’s Racing Products

Superior Auto Salvage

OCRS Race Results

Date of Race: Friday, June 28, 2013

Car count: 25




AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Heat

1, 5$-Danny Smith[4]. 2, 55-Johnny Kent[6]. 3, 11-Michael Tyre[8]. 4, 25-

Chuck Bellefeuille[5]. 5, 007-Michael Bookout[7]. 6, 94-Dan

Schnackenberg[9]. 7, 8-Alex Sewell[1]. 8, 4-Robert Sellers[0]. 9, 7m-Chance Morton


Bob Hurley Auto Family Heat 2

1, 9$-Kyle Clark[2]. 2, 96-Cody Brewer[3]. 3, 87F-Brian McClelland[7]. 4,

22K-Koby Barksdale[8]. 5, 7F-Joshua Tyre[1]. 6, 24-Tim Kent[4]. 7, 3x-

Justin Mowry[6]. 8, 26M-Fred Mattox[5].


Drive Shafts Inc. Heat 3

1, 17W-Harli White[2]. 2, 84-Alex DeCamp[1]. 3, 21-Brandon Jennings[7]. 4,

8M-Kade Morton[3]. 5, 94L-Layne Himebaugh[4]. 6, 30-Joe Wood Jr.[8]. 7,

78-Perry Pickard[0]. 8, 31-Casey Wills[6].


Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature

1, 94L-Layne Himebaugh[10]. 2, 8-Alex Sewell[13]. 3, 8M-Kade Morton[11].

4, 26M-Fred Mattox[7]. 5, 4-Robert Sellers[6]. 6, 24-Tim Kent[1]. 7, 7F-

Joshua Tyre[5]. 8, 25-Chuck Bellefeuille[4]. 9, 78-Perry Pickard[3]. 10, 30-

Joe Wood Jr.[12]. 11, 3x-Justin Mowry[2]. 12, 7m-Chance Morton[8]. (DNS).

13, 31-Casey Wills[9]. (DNS).


OCRS A Feature

1, 5$-Danny Smith[10]. 2, 84-Alex DeCamp[7]. 3, 17W-Harli White[11]. 4,

55-Johnny Kent[8]. 5, 96-Cody Brewer[1]. 6, 24-Tim Kent[16]. 7, 22K-

Koby Barksdale[2]. 8, 7F-Joshua Tyre[19]. 9, 11-Michael Tyre[5]. 10, 94-Dan

Schnackenberg[3]. 11, 007-Michael Bookout[4]. 12, 25-Chuck Bellefeuille[18]. 13,

4-Robert Sellers[17]. 14, 26M-Fred Mattox[14]. 15, 94L-Layne Himebaugh[13]. 16, 9$-Kyle Clark[6]. 17, 8-Alex Sewell[12]. 18, 8M-

Kade Morton[15]. 19, 21-Brandon Jennings[20]. 20, 87F-Brian McClelland[9].


AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Hard Charger: Joshua Tyre

Dyno Services of Oklahoma Hard Luck Award: Chance Morton