Patriot Sprint Tour Canadian Championship on the line Saturday at Brockville

Patriot Sprint Tour Logo

By Rich Vleck


ROCHESTER, NY, (October 14, 2013)- The second season of the PST Canada Series has been highlighted by an incredibly-tight battle for a championship that is worth $5,000 to the winner. There was no question that a champion would not be crowned until the final race of the year; and that race is this Saturday.

Patriot Sprint Tour Logo

The final race of the Patriot Sprint Tour Season takes place this Saturday afternoon at the Brockville Ontario Speedway as part of their Fall Nationals Weekend.  This is the third PST Canada race of the season at “The BOS”, but the first held during the afternoon, producing very different conditions around the tight ¼-mile.


Steve Poirier, who scored the win at Brockville in the August event, leads Jason Barney, the runner-up in that event, by just three points.  Three points is effectively the difference of one position on the track so things are up-for-grabs this weekend.


Defending PST Canada Champion Justin Barger is still not out of the mix, as he sits third in the standings.  Barger, along with 2012 series runner-up Jamie Collard are both within striking distance but will need some help as well to advance up the standings.


Jared Zimbardi is the fifth driver with an opportunity to claim the title on Saturday.  The newly-crowned 2013 PST America Champion will need the stars to align to pull off the championship, but if he did, the title would by worth an extra $5,000 for his PST Bonus, making his 2013 point fund a total of $15,000 cash.


Aside for the drivers in the championship mix, there will be a host of drivers completing their 2013 racing season this Saturday as well.  Glenn Styres, Keith Dempster, Chris Jones, Patrick Vigneault and Tommy Wickham are among some other top PST Canada drivers expected to be in attendance.  Also expected are drivers like Kevin Ward Jr., Etienne Girard, Jeff Cook, Rick and April Wilson, Devin Caron, Kyle Fraser and Paul Pekkonen, just to name a few.


Pit gates will swing open at 9:00 A.M. Saturday Morning, with heat in the motors taking place at 11:00 A.M.  Heat races will get underway at 1:00 P.M.  For more information, including hotel accommodations and start times, visit


Patriot History at Brockville:

Races: 17

8/20/2004- Rick Wilson

10/22/2005- Kyle Drum

7/15/2006- Rick Wilson

6/2/2007- Jessica Zemken

7/18/2009- Bryan Howland

8/22/2009- Alain Bergeron

10/17/2009- Glenn Styres (Non-Points)

6/12/2010- Jared Zimbardi

7/17/2010- Shayne Ely

10/16/2010- Jared Zimbardi (Non-Points)

7/16/2011- Jared Zimbardi

8/27/2011- Wayne Johnson

7/14/2012- Jamie Collard

8/25/2012- Justin Barger

10/13/2012- Steve Poirier

7/20/2013- Jamie Collard

8/24/2013- Steve Poirier