Lincoln Speedway Tease 2014

By Bill MeyerLincoln Speedway Tease 2014

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 3/22/2014 – Danny Dietrich turned in a dominant performance
at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night, driving away from the field to win the
25-lap “410” sprint car feature and claim his first win in the Pigeon Hills
since last July.

In the process, he moved alongside his dad with 19 career Lincoln wins.

“I sure hope to pass him.maybe even next week!” joked Dietrich upon exiting
the Gary Kauffman-owned Sandoe’s Fruit Market/Weikert’s Livestock #48, “But
to get to where I’m at, I have to thank him, Gary, and everyone that
sponsors this car. Without my dad, my brother, and Gary, I couldn’t do it.”

A redraw of the top four finishers from the qualifiers place Dietrich third
for the start. He passed outside front row starter Kyle Moody for second on
lap four, just before the only caution of the race came out for his brother
(Billy), who came to a stop in turn four.

Dietrich followed polesitter Brent Marks for six more laps before making the
pass as the leaders hit lapped traffic on lap 11. From there, Dietrich drove
away to a 1.78-second win over Marks, with Greg Hodnett, Moody, and Lance
Dewease completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were J.J. Grasso, Brian
Montieth, opening day winner Adam Wilt, Gerard McIntyre, Jr., and Cory Haas.

“We were real good in the heat there,” said Dietrich, “We were trying to
make the bottom work down in one and two in the heat. We knew if we could
make that work, we’d go workin’ tonight. We were happy with that. We did the
same thing here in the feature and it worked everywhere we went.”

Heats for the 30 “410” sprinters were won by Billy Dietrich, Chad Kemenah,
and Grasso, with Austin Hogue winning the consolation.

Defending track champ Niki Young started on the pole led every lap of the
20-lap season opener for “358” sprint cars, holding off heavy pressure from
2013 Williams Grove champ Kevin Nouse for his eighth career Lincoln win.

And he did it with a new race team, now driving for car owners Jeff Boll and
Mike Miller in the Lee Alwine Ornamental Iron Works #91.

Though he led the whole way, Young survived a 10th-lap challenge from Nouse,
who started tenth and pulled alongside Young heading in to turn one. Young
drove low and took away Nouse’s line entering the first turn. Nouse settled
for second, with Duane Watson completing his best-ever 358 sprint run in
third. Lady driver Brie Hershey and Chase Dietz rounded out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were Chandler Leiby, Doug Hammaker, Matt Campbell, Mark
Strickler, and Zach Eucalano.

Heats for the 18 “358” sprinters were won by Nouse and Strickler.

J.R. Rodriguez started on the pole and held off the race long challenges of
Cam Ziegler and then a last-lap challenge from good friend Gene Knaub in the
20-lap Precise Racing Products 358 late model feature. Knaub, who started
eighth, caught Zeigler for the runner-up spot following an 18th lap restart
and closed on Rodriguez, but the neon orange #71 crossed two carlengths in
front at the end.

Zeigler finished third, with Pat Beard and Tyler Horst completing the top

Former thundercar track champ Sam Gallagher was running fourth when he
suffered engine failure and came to a stop in turn four on lap 18.

Heats for the 20 “358” Late Models were won by Alan Sagi, Chase Billet, and
Kyle Martin.

Next Saturday, March 29th, the 410 Sprinters will be joined by the Super
Sportsman and Legends. Racing gets underway at 6 PM, with gates opening at 4

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes,
visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at or join
them on Facebook ( or Twitter
(@lincolnspeedway) to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather
conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track –
The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, March 22, 2014
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($3,200); 2. 19M-Brent Marks; 3.
27-Greg Hodnett; 4. 99M-Kyle Moody; 5. 14-Lance Dewease; 6. 37-JJ Grasso; 7.
21-Brian Montieth; 8. 15-Adam Wilt; 9. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 10. 11C-Cory
Haas; 11. 87-Alan Krimes; 12. 92-Tyler Ross; 13. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 14.
63-Chad Kemenah; 15. 59-Jim Siegel; 16. 69H-Shane Hoff; 17. 56-Tim Wagaman;
18. B52-Scott Geesey; 19. 0-Rick Lafferty; 20. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 21.
29-Ryan Wilson; 22. 52-Austin Hogue; 23. 21T-Scott Fisher; 24. 8-Billy
Dietrich (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brent Marks (1-10), Danny Dietrich (11-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 8-Billy Dietrich; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich;
3. 56-Tim Wagaman; 4. 27-Greg Hodnett; 5. 21-Brian Montieth; 6. 69-Shane
Hoff; 7. 52-Austin Hogue; 8. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 9. 21A-Will Rose; 10.
59A-Alex Schanz. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 63-Chad Kemenah; 2. 99M-Kyle Moody; 3.
14-Lance Dewease; 4. 92-Tyler Ross; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. B52-Scott Geesey;
7. 29-Ryan Wilson; 8. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 9. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 10.
20S-Derek Sell (DNF). Time – 2:25.355

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 37-JJ Grasso; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3.
16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 11C-Cory Haas; 6. 21T-Scott
Fisher; 7. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 8. 0-Rick Lafferty; 9. 35-Steve Owings (DNF);
10. 87-Alan Krimes (DNF). No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 51-Freddie
Rahmer; 3. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 4. 0-Rick Lafferty; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6.
29-Ryan Wilson; 7. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 8. 35-Steve Owings; 9. 21A-Will
Rose; 10. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 11. 59A-Alex Schanz; DNS – 20S-Derek Sell. Time
– 2:28.868

358 Sprints:
Feature (20 Laps) – 1. 91-Niki Young; 2. 4R-Kevin Nouse; 3. 3W-Duane Watson;
4. 97-Brie Hershey; 5. 2D-Chase Dietz; 6. 119-Chandler Leiby; 7. 66-Doug
Hammaker; 8. 16-Matt Campbell; 9. 38-Mark Strickler; 10. 10-Zach Eucalano;
11. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 12. 01-Rick Horn (DNF); 13. 38D-Kyle Denmyer (DNF);
14. 28-Matt Findley (DNF); DNS – 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh, 35-Steve Owings, 23-Todd
Rittenhouse, Jr., 5A-Brian Allman. No Time

Lap Leaders – Niki Young (1-20)

1st Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 4R-Kevin Nouse; 2. 91-Niki Young; 3. 2D-Chase Dietz;
4. 10-Zach Eucalano; 5. 119-Chandler Leiby (DNF); 6. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh
(DNF); 7. 38D-Kyle Denmyer (DNF);8. 35-Tyler Esh (DNF); DNS – 16-Matt
Campbell. Time – 2:24.25

2nd Heat (10 Laps) – 1. 38-Mark Strickler; 2. 97-Brie Hershey; 3. 3W-Duane
Watson; 4. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 5. 01-Rick Horn (DNF); 6. 28-Matt Findley
(DNF); 7. 66-Doug Hammaker (DNF); 8. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. (DNF); 9.
5A-Brian Allman (DNF). Time – 2:34.16