2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo
By Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – The 15th Annual Mach 1 Chassis National Open for 360 sprint cars is expected to draw a talented field of drivers chasing after the $10,000 top prize to win the 35-lap main event sanctioned with the United Racing Club this Saturday, June 20, at Selinsgrove Speedway. 

Greg Hodnett of Spring Grove, one of the nation’s leading 410 sprint car winners this season, is tentatively scheduled to compete in this weekend’s lucrative event offering a purse exceeding $35,000, one of the largest of any 360 sprint car race in the United States.  Finishing second in the race will earn a driver $5,000, with $1,000 posted for a 10th-place finish, and $500 just to start the race. 

One of Hodnett’s 10 wins this season was in the Ray Tilley Classic for 410 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway  May 24. He is slated to be one of the guests on this Thursday’s edition of “The Inside Lane” on ESPN 92.3 airing 5-6 p.m. 

A new qualifying format will be utilized for this year’s race, including one round of sprint car heat races that will award passing points to determine the starting lineup for the A-main. 

Track gates will open at 5 p.m., with racing slated to begin at 7:30 p.m. The pro stocks will also be on the racing card. 

The rain date, if needed, will be Sunday, June 21, at 7 p.m. 
In 358-360 sprint car Open history at Selinsgrove Speedway, 14 races have produced nine different winners since 2001. 

TJ Stutts of Liverpool won the inaugural race in 2001 and scored victories in 2003 and 2013. In Pat Cannon of Etters, however, was the first three-time winner of the 358-360 sprint car Open in 2012. Cannon’s other  victories were in 2007 and 2008.

Logan Schuchart of Hanover drove to an impressive victory in the 2011 race. In 2010, Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okla., was awarded the win when Cannon’s race car was under the legal weight during the post-race inspection.

Heimbach won the 2005 Open and the rain-postponed 2009 edition of the Open that was run in the spring of 2010. Adrian Shaffer of Hallam was the Open champion in 2002, while Nate Snyder of Halifax took the victory in the 2004 race. Phil Walter of McClure took home the trophy in 2006.

In last year’s Open, Aaron Ott of East Berlin scored the victory in the track’s first-ever $10,000-to-win race for 358-360 sprint cars. 2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo

In 360 sprint car racing at the speedway this season, defending track champion Mark Smith of Sunbury has four wins and leads the Mach 1 Chassis points standings over defending United Racing Club champion and one-time Selinsgrove winner this year Davie Franek of Wantage, N.J. Eric Tomacek of Abbottstown returned to sprint car racing this season and has one win at the track. Stutts, the only winner this season who has previously won the Open, took the victory in last weekend’s Joe Whitcomb Memorial.  

Race sponsor Mach 1 Chassis, located at 10 North Frederick Street in Mechanicsburg, engineers and builds race car chassis that are known for safety, strength, durability, and performance. In addition to chassis fabrication and repair, Mach 1 Chassis also manufactures front and rear bumpers, nerf bars, front axles, wing posts, and wing trees. 

There’s also the Mach 1 Speed Shop offering a full line of race car parts and service at the Mechanicsburg shop. For more information about the company, visit 

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999. 

Purse for Mach 1 Chassis 358-360 Sprint Car National Open (6/20/15): 1) $10,000 2) $5,000 3) $3,000 4) $2,000 5) $1,500 6) $1,400 7) $1,300 8) $1,200 9) $1,100 10) $1,000 11) $700 12) $650 13) $600 14) $550 15-25) $500
Admission for 6/20/15: Adults $25; Students (12-17) $10; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $35