Felker wins opening night of POWRi Freedom Fest

Macon Speedway Logo

From Adam Mackey

Macon, IL — (July 3, 2015) — A very special weekend of racing and entertainment is taking place to celebrate the Independence Day holiday at Macon Speedway. On Friday night, the first of back-to-back nights was completed for POWRi Freedom Fest.

The first feature on track was the 30-lap event for the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midgets. 22 drivers were track side for the main event after setting the starting field from the 39 attendees. When the green dropped, Justin Grant pulled out front with Ryan Robinson and Andrew Felker in tow. Felker moved into second after the race’s first caution, to set his sights on the top spot. On lap 11, Felker pulled off a slide job to take the top spot. Five laps later, Robinson took the lead away from Felker. His lead was short lived as they diced through traffic and Felker was determined to get back out front. On lap 18, Felker took over and raced his way to the checkered, as slide job after slide job took place on the Mighty Macon oval. Following the Carl Junction, Missouri driver to the exciting victory was Darren Hagen, who made some late passes to take second. Grant, Spencer Bayston, and Robinson rounded out the top five.