From Dick Jordan

Champions of USAC’s 2009 Western racing series will be honored along with special award recipients at the USAC Western Awards Banquet January 30 in Upland, Calif.

The Imagine That Events Center, located at 1218 W. Ninth St. in Upland, serves as the host facility as it did last year for the celebration of USAC’s 2009 Western season. The affair begins with a cocktail reception at 6 pm and dinner begins at 7, with the awards ceremony to follow.

Champions of various racing series, rookies of the year and other noted recipients will be honored.

Tickets for the Western Awards Banquet are available at $55.00 per person from Jeanie Hunt at (916) 863-7223 and must be purchased by January 16, 2010. No tickets will be available at the door. RSVP’s should be directed to USAC, 7900 Winding Way, Fair Oaks, Calif. 95628.

Cocktail attire is requested for this special evening.

The Best Western Inn and Suites, located at 3400 Shelby Street in Ontario, Calif. has been selected as the banquet headqarters, with free shuttle service available to and from the “Imagine That” banquet facility. Room rates are $62.99 for a Studio King and $72.99 for an Executive or Jacuzzi room. The hotel phone number is (909) 466-9600 and ask for Julia when making reservations.

Champions of USAC’s Western Racing Series in 2009 included Mike Spencer of Temecula, Calif. (CRA Sprints), Tanner Swanson of Kingsburg, Calif. (Western Sprints), Garrett Hansen of Manhattan Beach, Calif. (Western Midgets), Brody Roa of Buena Park, Calif. (California Dirt Ford Focus), Nik Romano of Atherton, Calif. (California Pavement Ford Focus) and Kyle Edwards of Fountain View, Calif. (Young Guns Junior Focus). Previously honored at a Salt Lake City, Utah banquet were USAC’s Rocky Mountain Sprint Car Champion Mike Murgoitio of Meridian, Ida. and Utah Ford Focus Champion Kipp Posey of Lehi, Utah.

Andrew Mulhearn of Whittier, Calif. (Dirt Ford Focus) and Alex Jacobsen of San Jose, Calif. (Young Guns Junior Focus) also earned USAC National titles in Western racing competition in 2009.