From Lincoln Speedway

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 3/20/2010 – Tower City’s Mark Smith has won a lot of races at many different tracks through the years. But he never scored a “410” sprint win at Lincoln Speedway.

That is, until Saturday night.

Smith started on the pole by the luck of the draw and led all 30 laps of the season-opening “Icebreaker 30.”

And he left no doubt how he felt, and what his future plans are going to be during his victory lane celebration.

“We are going to be here every weekend,” Smith said after being reminded he was the points leader after the opening night win.

“I’ve been waiting for this one a long time,” said a jubilant Smith in victory lane, “I thought we had it last year (in this race) and we got caught up in lapped traffic and it cost us a win. I guess we redeemed ourselves tonight!”

“I’ve been racing here for I don’t know how many years and I won here in the super sportsman,” said Smith, “Actually I don’t think I ever finished any worse than second in a sportsman here…the win here has gotten away from me here too many times, and now I got one and hopefully you’ll see me out here (in victory lane) a lot more.”

The Brian Scandle-owned Bricker’s French Fries/NRC Controls/Mach 1 Chassis #7M beat outside frontrow starter Josh Wells to the first turn to grab the lead at the drop of the green. Fourth-starting Cory Haas got around Wells on lap two to take over the second spot and kept pace with Smith over the next five laps before a Jim Siegel spin in turn one on lap seven slowed the action.

Smith led Haas, Wells, and fifth-starting Alan Krimes for the next four laps before a Billy Dietrich spin on lap 10 in turns one and two once again kept the field close to the leader.

On the restart , Smith began to flex his muscles and started to pull away from Haas, but cautions on lap 16 and for a stopped Bobby Howard and then a five-car crash in turn one on lap 20 again kept the field close.

That melee started when 16th-starting Doug Esh, who had moved up into third, spun in turn one, but kept going. But the hectic action collected Greg Hodnett, Wells, Chad Layton, Brad McClelland, and Danny Dietrich.

Esh got around Haas for second on the restart, two laps before Adam Wilt spun in turns three and four, resulting in an Aaron Ott flip.

The final eight laps went non-stop, with Smith cruising to a 1.73-second win over Esh. Haas, Alan Krimes, and Johnny Mackison completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were 19th-starting Brian Leppo, 11th-starting Fred Rahmer, 14th-starting Brian Montieth, 15th-starting Justin Henderson (in the Charlie and Dawn Sorokach #35), and Brent Marks.

“I didn’t feel much pressure, my car was that good ” said Smith on his wire-to-wire win, “I think this was the easiest win I’ve ever had….It was kind-of-like a Sunday drive, but on a Saturday.”

The “Icebreaker 30” win was worth $3,500.

Heats for the 29 “410” sprinters were won by Chad Layton, Krimes, and Wilt, with Leppo winning the consolation.

Saturday, March 20, 2010
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 7M-Mark Smith ($3,000); 2. 39-Doug Esh; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 6. 71-Brian Leppo; 7. 51-Fred Rahmer; 8. 21-Brian Montieth; 9. 35-Justin Henderson; 10. 19M-Brent Marks; 11. 8-Billy Dietrich; 12. 7-Chad Layton; 13. 48-Danny Dietrich; 14. 3W-Kyle Moody; 15. 26-Pat Cooper; 16. 22-Greg Hodnett; 17. 14-Doug Dodson; 18. 4-John Rudisill; 19. 6-Brad McClelland; 20. 15-Adam Wilt (DNF); 21. 25-Aaron Ott (DNF); 22. 6W-Josh Wells (DNF); 23. 49-Bobby Howard (DNF); 24. 59-Jimmy Siegel (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Mark Smith (1-30)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 7-Chad Layton; 2. 6W-Josh Wells; 3. 7M-mark Smith; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 25-Aaron Ott; 6. 39-Doug Esh; 7. 71-Brian Leppo; 8. 22D-Cole Duncan; 9. 48-Danny Dietrich; 10. 6-Brad McClelland. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. Alan Krimes; 2. 51-Fred Rahmer; 3. 22-Greg Hodnett; 4. 14-Doug Dodson; 5. 21-Brian Montieth; 6. 26-Pat Cooper; 7. 3W-Kyle Moody; 8. 4-John Rudisill; 9. 39T-Tim Glatfelter (DNF); 10. 27-Tyler Walker (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 15-Adam Wilt; 2. Brent Marks; 3. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 4. 49-Bobby Howard; 5. 35-Justin Henderson; 6. 8-Billy Dietrich; 7. 59-Jim Siegel; 8. 3B-Scott Bonnell (DNF); 9. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (DNF). No time.

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 71-Brian Leppo; 2. 6-Brad McClelland; 3. 3W-Kyle Moody; 4. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich; 6. 4-John Rudisill; 7. 22D-Cole Duncan; 8. 3B-Scott Bonnell; DNS – 39T-Tim Glatfelter, 16-Gerard McIntyre Jr., 27-Tyler Walker. No Time