Anderson Speedway

From Dave Argabright
(Anderson, Ind.) Six well-known Little 500 competitors are slated for induction into the Little 500 Hall of Fame here on Saturday, May 29, part of “Little 500 Week” in Anderson.

From the historic era (1948 to 1975) are G.E. “Woody” Wood, Ray Wright, and Tom York, while from the modern era comes Donnie Adams, Gary Fedewa, and Gene Nolen.

Wood, of Mishawaka, Ind., was a prominent owner and mechanic at the Little 500 for many years beginning in the early 1960s. He owned the machine in which Dick Good won in 1964, and was the winning crew chief in 1977 with Jeff Bloom.

Wright, of Elkhart, Ind., made eight Little 500 starts as a driver from 1964 to ’74, finishing 2nd in 1969 and 3rd in ’68 and ’72. He also won the pole position in 1968.

York, of South Bend, Ind., was the 1969 pole position winner at the Little 500. He made five starts in the sprint car classic, finishing 5th in 1964 and ’66.

Adams, a native of Alexandria, Ind., made eight Little 500 starts as a driver from 1990 to ’97, finishing 3rd in 1992 and ’96. He won the pole position in 1992, and led three races for a total of 163 laps.

Fedewa, of Holt, Mich., made 12 starts as a driver from 1978 to 2004, winning the pole position in 1997 and ’98. He scored four top-5 finishes including a runner-up finish in 1995, and led five races for a total of 210 laps. In the span of his career Fedewa completed 4,755 laps at the Little 500.

Nolen, of Greenwood, Ind., fielded 15 Little 500 entries as a car owner from 1996 to present. His cars have scored four top-5 finishes, including a runner-up finish in 2008 with Tony Elliott at the wheel. Elliott and Nolen won the pole position at the 2009 Little 500.

The inductions will take place at Anderson Speedway at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 29, with support from Anderson Speedway, Hoosier Tire Midwest, Bell Racing Company, Big Joe’s Services, and the Little 500 Festival. Tickets are available to the public, with information available at (765) 288-4587.