The red hot Red Hawk rumble returns to Placerville this Saturday


From Bill Sullivan, Handy Racing Promotions Media Relations

PLACERVILLE, CA – This Saturday night the entertainment phenomenon known as Placerville Speedway lights up with action once again as the 2010 Red Hawk Casino Championship Racing Series returns the action packed quarter-mile dirt track on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds under the management of Handy Racing Promotions Incorporated.

This Saturday night the 360 sprint cars return along with Dirt Solution Late Models and Pure Stocks for the eighth championship point race of the season. The action doesn’t stop with the three track regulars, however. The exciting Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Car Shootout Series will be in action as well in the event presented by Hoosier Tires, Coors Light, Pepsi Cola and Riebes Auto Parts.

Saturday night, Placerville Speedway will recognize one of its most dedicated community contingency sponsors with “Food 4 Less” Night at the bullring of speed where champions are born. Located in nearby Cameron Park, Food 4 Less has been one of the track’s community contingency sponsors for more than three years now.

Privately owned and operated by the Stille Family, Food 4 Less and Nugget Markets are both strong believers in supporting the communities that surround them. Over the last three years this family owned grocery chain has awarded thousands of dollars in complimentary products to racers and race fans in additional to providing support in various community outreach efforts and fundraisers associated with the sport.

After nearly three weeks off from action, the battle for the 2010 championship racing season returns this Saturday night with tight point standings in all three of the weekly divisions and dead heat for the point lead in the traveling Hunt Shootout Series. Placerville Speedway is known for his high speeds and in your face speed thrills. Saturday will be no exception as Northern California’s best racers go ahead to head before the most dedicated fans in the sport.

In the winged sprint car division, Mr. Excitement Andy Forsberg of Auburn leads the championship point standings with a nine point advantage over Placerville driver C.J. Humphreys. While Forsberg sits on the helm of the point standings the former track champion and four time Civil War Series titlist remains eluded from a victory at the track he calls home so far this season.

Will this Saturday night mark Forsberg’s return to victory lane? Not if Humphreys has anything to say about it. Humphreys is also seeking his first win of the year along with third place runner and former track champion Mike Henry of Sacramento. Local favorite Scott Russell of Placerville is fourth in the championship hunt with Justin Johnson of Shingle Springs rounding out the top five.

In the Dirt Solutions Late Model division, 2008 track champion Dan Brown Jr. of Nevada City continues to lead the standings. With a victory to his name this year and four top five finishes to his name, Brown sits 12-points ahead of Cameron Park’s Jay Norton, the 2009 division Rookie of the Year. Matt Davis of Auburn is third overall ahead of Les Friend of Galt and Doug Grandboise of Jackson.

In the competitive Pure Stock division, Chris Curtiss of Placerville continues to lead the point standings. Currently, Curtiss sits with a seven point advantage over Placerville’s Danielle Clauson. This Saturday night Curtiss will look to increase his point lead in hopes of building a healthy edge in the coming weeks.

Curtiss will be absent from a solo event in the month to come to attend his wedding so every added point will help prior to what will be a big day for him and perhaps a big night for Clauson or whoever is running in second place at the time. Sitting in third is Dennis Armstrong of El Dorado. Eddie Gardner of Sacramento is fourth in the Pure Stock standings over former champion Rick Grunert of Woodland.

In the visiting Hunt Magnetos Wingless Shootout Series, Terry Schank Jr. of Santa Rosa is currently tied for the point lead with Chico’s Taylor Simas. Former Placerville Speedway track champion Billy Wallace is third in the standings followed by Timmy Sherman Jr. and Johnny Reeves.

The grandstands to Placerville Speedway will open at 5 p.m. on Saturday night. All seats at the speedway are general admission and no reserved seating or pre-entry is permitted. Adult tickets are $12, Juniors and Seniors are $10,n Children are $5 and those five and under are free. For complete point standings and additional information on Saturday’s event check out or call the track business office at (916) 969-7484.