From Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will showcase two sprint car
specials over the Fourth of July weekend. The 358 sprint cars will be
featured in the Firecracker 30 this Saturday, July 3, with the 410 sprint
cars taking the spotlight in the PA Speedweek finale this Sunday, July 4.
Track gates will open at 5 p.m. and qualifying will begin at 7:30 p.m. both

Saturday’s Ninth Annual Middleswarth Potato Chips Firecracker 30 for 358
sprint cars will pay $2,000 to win and $225 to start. The payoff for all 24
starting positions has been increased for the race. Time trials, heats, and
a B-Main will be the format for qualifying for the 30-lap A-Main. Also on
this Saturday’s racing card will be the late models, pro stocks, and

Past winners of the Firecracker race as a 40-lap contest include the late
Jim Nace of Thompsontown (2002), Bob Beidleman of Walnutport (2003), Dave
Calaman of Carlisle (2004), Nate Snyder of Halifax (2005), and Blane
Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2006). In 2007, the race was abbreviated to 30
laps and was won by Calaman. Scott Flammer of West Milford, N.J., (2008)
and defending winner Pat Cannon of Etters also won the race as a 30-lap

The speedway will swing back into action on Sunday evening with the Jan
Opperman Memorial PA Speedweek finale for 410 sprint cars sponsored by Mach
1 Chassis. Sunday night’s event will mark the second appearance of the
season by the 410 sprint cars at the Snyder County half-mile oval. Time
trials, heats, and a B-Main will be the format for qualifying for the
30-lap A-Main that will pay $5,000 to win. If needed, Monday, July 5 will
be utilized as a rain date for Sunday’s event.

Fred Rahmer of Salfordville has more Speedweek wins at Selinsgrove than any
other driver, with victories in 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2005, and
2008. Other past Speedweek winners at Selinsgrove include Len Krautheim of
Penns Creek (1992); Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, N.J. (1994, 1996); Todd
Shaffer of Millerstown (2001); Greg Hodnett of York (2002, 2003, 2004);
Doug Esh of Lancaster (2006); Sean Michael of Allentown (2007); and Chad
Kemenah of Findlay, Ohio (2009).

In the May 30 Keystone Cup race, Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okla., scored the
thrilling victory over Stevie Smith of Broken Arrow, Okla. It was Pittman’s
first career sprint car win at Selinsgrove Speedway, and he is expected to
be in the field for Sunday’s race.

Race sponsor Mach 1 Chassis, located on Hartzdale Drive in Camp Hill,
engineers and builds race car chassis that are known for safety, strength,
durability, and performance.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present the Firecracker Special for go karts
at 6 p.m. Friday, July 2. Track gates will open at 4 p.m. Micro sprint cars
will NOT be in competition at the track this Friday.

An open practice session will be held at Selinsgrove Raceway Park this
Wednesday, June 30, from 6:30 until 9 p.m. for go karts and micro sprint

There will be no racing at Selinsgrove Speedway & Raceway Park the weekend
of July 9-10 for the track’s summer break. Racing action will resume the
weekend of July 16-17.

Admission Fees:
Saturday, July 4: Adults $13; Students (12-17) $10; Kids 11 & Under FREE;
Pit Passes $25
Sunday, July 5: Adults $20; Students (12-17) $15; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit
Passes $25