Daryn Pittman
Daryn Pittman

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okl., out-dueled Lance Dewease
of Fayetteville for another exciting win at Selinsgrove Speedway in Sunday
night’s Jan Opperman Memorial/PA Speedweek finale for 410 sprint cars
sponsored by Mach 1 Chassis.

The $5,000 victory in the 30-lap feature marked the second of Pittman’s
career at Selinsgrove and the seventh of the 2010 season driving the
Leelands.com No. 27 for car owner Michael Heffner.

While Pittman became the first and only repeat winner in the 20th
anniversary eight-race series, Greg Hodnett of Thomasville clinched the
prestigious PA Speedweek title for the second year in a row and third time
in his career.

Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove was the Fast Tees Fast Time award winner with
a lap time of 17.755.

The 410 sprint cars will return to Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday, Sept.
18, for the Jim Nace Memorial 28th Annual National Open in which one driver
could win $26,000.

Polesitter Lance Dewease powered into the lead at the drop of the green
flag in the main event. On the second circuit, second-place starter Daryn
Pittman made a pass for the lead using the inside lane entering turn one.
The event’s first caution flag also unfurled on lap two when Phil Walter’s
car rolled to a stop in turn three with a flat tire.

When the race resumed, Pittman set a torrid pace around the top of the race
track, with Dewease remaining in striking distance using the bottom of the
track. Fourth-place starter Blane Heimbach raced a solid third, while
fifth-place starter Fred Rahmer and sixth-place starter Brent Marks raced
in the top five.

The red flag stopped the race on lap 11 when Heimbach’s car made contact
with the second turn wall and a small fire erupted. After being checked out
by EMTs, Heimbach walked away from the hard crash.

On the lap 12 restart, Dewease pulled alongside of Pittman entering turn
one and drag-raced the leader down the backstretch. Racing off turn four,
Dewease reclaimed the front spot while Pittman continued to race in his

At the halfway point, series points leader and 10th-place starter Greg
Hodnett advanced to fourth and began to pressure Rahmer for the third
position. With 10 laps remaining, Pittman bounced his sprinter off the turn
three wall but was able to continue on his mission to the front of the pack

On lap 27, Pittman put his No. 27 back into the lead at the start/finish
line. Dewease, however, stayed with the leader in traffic but came up short
at the checkered flag. Pittman was victorious by a mere .44 of a second
over Dewease. Rahmer, Hodnett, and Todd Shaffer completed the top five.

410 Sprint Cars – 30 Entries
30-Lap A-Main: 1) 27 Daryn Pittman $5,000 2) 30C Lance Dewease 3) 51 Fred
Rahmer 4) 22 Greg Hodnett 5) 88 Todd Shaffer 6) 48 Danny Deitrich 7)
19M Brett Marks 8) 0 Rick Lafferty 9) 7M Mark Smith 10) 93 Doug Esh 11)
17B Steve Buckwalter 12) 11 Mike Erdley 13) 39 Keith Kauffman 14) 71
Brian Leppo 15) 7 Chad Layton 16) 19 Colby Womer 17) 7A Ed Aikin 18) 65
Johnny Mackison 19) 1 Stevie Smith DNF 20) 12 Blane Heimbach DNF 21) 3
Bob Bennett DNF 22) 19H Michael Carber DNF 23) 5W Phil Walter DNF 24) 16
Cliff Brian DNF
Heat Winners: Lance Dewease, Daryn Pittman, Fred Rahmer
B-Main Winner: Chad Layton
Time Trials: 1) 12 Blane Heimbach 17.775 2) 0 Rick Lafferty 17.889 3) 30C
Lance Dewease 17.908 4) 17B Steve Buckwalter 17.957 5) 3 Bob Bennett
18.053 6) 93 Doug Esh 18.059 7) 7 Chad Layton 18.067 8) 3 Pat Cannon
18.084 9) 11 Mike Erdley 18.103 10) 27 Daryn Pittman 18.177 11) 51 Fred
Rahmer18.326 12) 71 Brian Leppo 18.328 13) 19M Brent Marks 18.331 14) 66
Ryan Kissinger 18.359 15) 7M Mark Smith 18.523 16) 39 Keith Kauffman
18.652 17) 65 Johnny Mackison 18.670 18) 22 Greg Hodnett 18.704 19) 88
Todd Shaffer 18.714 20) 19 Colby Womer 18.814 21) 48 Danny Dietrich
18.869 22) 1 Stevie Smith 18.901 23) 16 Cliff Brian 18.975 24) 5W Phil
Walter 19.077 25) 19H Michael Carber 19.133 26) 5 Dylan Cisney 19.413 27)
7A Ed Aikin 19.788 28) 31 Jim Campbell 19.892 29) 63 Mike Walter 19.897
30) 3J Jack Thorton 20.500