Shaffer Wins Second Night Huset’s

Tim Shaffer
Tim Shaffer

From Brian Liskai

BRANDON, S.D. (7-31-10)– In round two of the O’Reilly Auto Parts All Star
Circuit of Champions verses the tough Huset’s Speedway stars and Wild West
invaders, it was current All Star Point leader Tim Shaffer who won an
exciting shoot out Saturday night, July 31.

Shaffer, the defending All Star champion, raced Huset’s regular Scott
Winters hard over the final 10 laps, finally taking the led with just two
circuits remaining with an exciting slide job in turn three. Shaffer would
drive the Aaron Call, Janet Holbrook owned #83 to his seventh All Star win
of 2010.

For Shaffer, the win was more gratifying as the previous night saw his race
end on the back of a wrecker after tangling with another competitor. That
crash ended a streak of seven consecutive top three finishes in All Star
competition for the Steel City Outlaw.

Night number two at the fast Huset’s Speedway saw All Star regular David
Gravel and local Jake Peters lead the field to the green. Gravel, who
finished second the previous night, would be hard on the gas and blast into
the lead, setting a blistering pace. The young Ohio Sprint Speedweek
champion would hit the back of the field in just four laps. The car on the
move was Winters who moved into second from his fourth-starting position.

Racing through lapped traffic on the fast 3/8th of a mile track, Winters
would charge into the lead on lap 7, racing to the outside of Gravel in
turn four. While the top three did not change through the first 17 laps as
Winters led Gravel and Peters, it was Shaffer and the previous night’s
winner Tim Kaeding charging to the front from their sixth and seventh place
starting spots respective. Shaffer and Kaeding put on a driving clinic as
they used all of the high-banked speedway to dart in and out of lapped

Shaffer would take third on lap 18 and moved into second on lap 19,
bringing Kaeding into third and moving Gravel back to fourth.

The racing action would grind to a half on lap 20 as Troy Meyer hit the
wall in turn one and took a nasty tumble. On the restart Winters, who has a
feature win at Huset’s this season, had three lapped machines between
himself and Shaffer, but when the green came back out, Shaffer quickly
disposed of them in turns one and two and moved right on Winters’ rear
bumper with nine laps remaining. The crowd was on their feet as Winters and
Shaffer battled each other side-by-side. Shaffer made his move on lap 28,
executing a perfect slide job in turn three to take the lead as they came
to the white flag.

Shaffer would drive his VRP Shocks, Kistler Engines mount to the checkered
over Winters, Kaeding, Gregg Bakker, who has two wins at Huset’s in 2010
and who charged from 12th starting spot, and Gravel.

Qualifying – Kistler Engines

1. 83-Tim Shaffer, 11.141; 2. 23W-Scott Winters, 11.242; 3. 89G-David
Gravel, 11.271; 4. 6-Bill Rose, 11.282; 5. 57X-Jake Peters, 11.302; 6.
99J-Jacob Ossenfort, 11.309; 7. 83JR-Tim Kaeding, 11.320; 8. 18-Tony Bruce
Jr., 11.330; 9. O4-Cap Henry, 11.338; 10. 4-Chad Meyer, 11.377; 11.
16-Travis Whitney, 11.381; 12. 11X-Gregg Bakker, 11.400; 13. O-Brandon
Wimmer, 11.446; 14. 9X-Gary Wright, 11.494; 15. W20-Greg Wilson, 11.498;
16. 12-Jared Ridge, 11.543; 17. 4H-Cody Hanson, 11.708; 18. 1H-Jeremy
Kerzman, 11.737; 19. 101-Chuck McGillivray, 11.623; 20. 22T-Miranda
Throckmorton, 11.786; 21. 96AU-Bruce White, 11.877; 22. 11-Troy Meyer,
11.918; 23. 3-Donovan Peterson, 12.035; 24. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 98.000

Heat 1 – MSD Ignition (10 Laps – Top 8 Transfer)

1. O-Brandon Wimmer; 2. 83JR-Tim Kaeding; 3. 12-Jared Ridge; 4. 83-Tim
Shaffer; 5. 4-Chad Meyer; 6. 6-Bill Rose; 7. 11-Troy Meyer; 8. 101-Chuck

Heat 2 – Kear’s Speed Shop (10 Laps – Top 8 Transfer)

1. 9X-Gary Wright; 2. 4H-Cody Hanson; 3. 57X-Jake Peters; 4. 23W-Scott
Winters; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr.; 6. 16-Travis Whitney; 7. 22T-Miranda
Throckmorton; 8. 3-Donovan Peterson

Heat 3 – All Pro Heads (10 Laps – Top 8 Transfer)

1. W20-Greg Wilson; 2. 11X-Gregg Bakker; 3. 1H-Jeremy Kerzman; 4. O4-Cap
Henry; 5. 89G-David Gravel; 6. 99J-Jacob Ossenfort; 7. 96AU-Bruce White; 8.
14-Jody Rosenboom

A-Main – O’Reilly Auto Parts (30 Laps) [#]-Starting Position

1. 83-Tim Shaffer[6]; 2. 23W-Scott Winters[4]; 3. 83JR-Tim Kaeding[7]; 4.
11X-Gregg Bakker[12]; 5. 89G-David Gravel[1]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr.[8]; 7.
101-Chuck McGillivray[19]; 8. W20-Greg Wilson[15]; 9. O4-Cap Henry[9]; 10.
6-Bill Rose[5]; 11. 99J-Jacob Ossenfort[3]; 12. O-Brandon Wimmer[13]; 13.
4H-Cody Hanson[17]; 14. 14-Jody Rosenboom[24]; 15. 16-Travis Whitney[11];
16. 1H-Jeremy Kerzman[18]; 17. 22T-Miranda Throckmorton[20]; 18. 3-Donovan
Peterson[23]; 19. 57X-Jake Peters[2]; 20. 96AU-Bruce White[21]; 21. 4-Chad
Meyer[10]; 22. 12-Jared Ridge[16]; 23. 11-Troy Meyer[22]; 24. 9X-Gary