Ten feature winners highlight early entries for DuQuoin

POWRi 2011
POWRi 2011

From Bryan Gapinski

DuQuoin, Ill., Nov 16—Ten midget feature winners from the 2010 season are among the first thirty-two entries received for the Dec. 18 inaugural “Battle at the Center”, on the Mini Magic Mile inside the Southern Illinois Center. The invitational event will be sanctioned by the POWRi SPEEDWAY Motors National Midget Series.

ARDC Champion Steve Buckwalter’s eleven feature wins leads the feature winners list of entered drivers which includes: Brad Kuhn (7-wins), Dalton Armstrong (7), Jerry Coons Jr. (3), Scott Hatton (2), Zach Daum (2), Taylor Ferns (2), Nick Knepper (1), Rich Camfield (1) and Jacob Wilson (1). Additional enteries have been received from: 2008 POWRi Midget Champion Brett Anderson, Adam Tischhauser, Danny Frye III, David Gough, Austin Brown, Caleb Armstrong, Andrew Felker, Garrett Hood, Shane Cockrum, Tim Siner, Steve Stroud, Bob Shreffler, Daryn Pittman, Tyler Robbins, Seth Motsinger, Kyle Neal, Trevor Kobylarz, Dave Camfield, Dereck King, Kara King, and Rick King. Additional confirmed enteries will be announced by race officials as they are received.

The one-day event will feature midget racing only, and be highlighted by a 50-lap feature paying $5,000.00 to win, a week before Christmas! The event is being taped by NeWave Productions for delayed broadcast on SPEED Channel’s LUCAS Oil on the Edge.

Tickets are now on sale for the event and with limited seating available, a sell-out before race day is expected! To purchase advance tickets for The Battle at the Center; the ticket order form can be found under the DOWNLOADS link located at the top of POWRi web site www.powri.com.