PRS 2011 – Racing into a new decade with a new attitude! Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – The annual Port Royal Speedway awards banquet will be held on January 8, 2011, at the Port Royal Community Building, located along 4th St., just off of the speedway’s backstretch.

Doors for the ceremony will open at 6 p.m.

Honored will be the 2010 track champions: Chad Layton, 410 sprints; Scott Haus, late models; John Heane, pro stocks; Jason Davis, enduro; and Jen Powell, powder puffs. Also receiving awards will be the top-10 in the sprint, late model and pro stock divisions along with the top-5 in enduros and powder puffs.

Tickets for the banquet and awards can now be purchased at a price of $30.00 each by sending a check or money order made payable to Port Royal Speedway, to: Port Royal Speedway, Box 295, Port Royal, PA, 17082.

Orders may also be placed by phone between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays by contacting the speedway office at 717.527.2303.

Layton scored his first 410 track title anywhere in his career, at Port Royal in 2010. Driving the Middleswarth No. 7, he topped the field in a tight battle with Rick Lafferty, taking three victories and scoring 16 top-10 finishes.

Haus took six wins coming out in a battle over Tim Wilson. Heane was a two-time winner.

Information regarding the purchase of season seat tickets and passes will be released within the next seven to 10 days.

Please note that the Port Royal Speedway office will be staffed only intermittently during the current off-season.