DeCaire Crowned Must See Racing Champion

From Must-See Racing, Skip Konkle Photo

COLDWATER, Mich. – Troy DeCaire took center stage on Saturday night at the inaugural MustSeeRacing Xtreme Sprint Series awards ceremony, collecting top honors as the 2010 series champion. DeCaire’s awards were part of $51,150 distributed to drivers and car owners.

“This is a big moment,” the Tampa, Fla. driver said as he accepted the championship accolades. “I moved up here from Florida a year ago not really sure where I’d go or what I’d do, but the Xtreme Sprint Series came along at exactly the right time and everything worked out perfectly”.

“I have to thank Mike Blake and many other people, because I had a lot of people pulling for me and that made a difference. It was a fun year, and I’m going to do everything I can to stand here in this same spot a year from now.”

DeCaire was also voted “Driver of the Year” by his competitors.

Blake took top honors in the car owner category. The popular Indianapolis native was surrounded by his crew and family, celebrating his first title in over 40 years in the sport. He was also the recipient of the “Crew Chief of the Year” award.

Drivers and car owners honored included series runner-up Jeff Bloom and third-place Jimmy McCune. Nearly all of the top-20 drivers and owners were in attendance, filling the meeting room to capacity.

Veteran driver Hank Lower was presented the “Golden Steering Wheel” award, honoring his 51 years of dedication to short track racing. As the crowd saluted him with a standing ovation, Lower talked fondly of his love for the sport and looked forward to his continued presence in the cockpit in 2011.

Jason Cox earned “Rookie of the Year” honors, while “Multiple Feature Winner” awards went to McCune and Mike Ling. Jeff Bloom received a “World Record” award for his record-shattering qualifying performance at Slinger Speedway, while Ryan Litt and his team took the “Spark Plug” award for their perseverance.

Dick and J.R. Kercher of Kercher Engines was presented the “Championship Engine Builder” award with a beautiful plaque provided and sponsored by Rose Calabraise.

Tim Cox was a popular recipient of the “Sportsmanship Award,” while Jason Blonde received the “Fast Timer” award. Mike Larrison captured “Most Improved Driver” honors, while Kyle Flint was named “Young Gun” of the year. Jacob Wilson was presented the “Hard Luck” award and Jerry Sunnock

and George Gustafson car #70 driven by Sondi Eden was voted the “Best Looking Car.

Suellen and Don Wilshe were honored as “Car Owner of the Year” for providing generous help to several other teams throughout the year.

A number of series sponsors were also honored for their assistance, including BioBased.US, Engine Pro, TruFuel 50, and National Speed Sport News.

The 2011 Xtreme Sprint Series campaign kicks off at Salem Speedway on Sunday, April 10, the first of 11 major events. Competition will once again be broadcast to over 90 million American homes via Comcast Sports, as well as world wide on For more information on the Xtreme Sprint Series visit