Sherman Sweeps ASCS Canyon Clash!

By Lonnie Wheatley

PEORIA, Ariz. (April 30, 2011) – Two-time Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region champion Jeremy Sherman continues to bring his “A” Game to the track in 2011 as he completed a sweep of Canyon Speedway Park’s Inaugural Canyon Clash with another drive to victory lane on Saturday night.

Starting from the front row, Sherman was in command throughout the 30-lapper despite heavy pressure from the likes of Danny Sheridan and Charles Davis, Jr., along with R.J. Johnson in the late going.

Sheridan momentarily slipped ahead of Sherman at one point, only to have Sherman motor back by en route to his second win in as many nights and third ASCS Canyon score of the year at Canyon Speedway Park aboard the Gaerte-powered Ellis Race Cars/Beaver Stripes No. 21.

Sherman tallied his 31st career ASCS Canyon win in front of Sheridan, while Johnson raced from deep in the field to claim the show position. Two-time and defending series champion Davis was fourth, with 17-year-old Justin Quinn posting his best career series finish by rounding out the top five.

Matt Rossi was sixth, with Ronnie Clark, Andrew Reinbold, Shon Deskins and Dalten Gabbard completing the top ten.

Davis, Josh Pelkey and Joshua Hodges topped heat race action, with Gabbard winning the “B” Main.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Results from Canyon Speedway Park’s Inaugural Canyon Clash:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 6-Ronnie Clark, 3. 62-Danny Sheridan, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 20-Shon Deskins, 6. 51-R.J. Johnson, 7. 7k-Bruce St. James, 8. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 9. 16-Mike Martin.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12-Josh Pelkey, 2. 93-Justin Quinn, 3. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 4. 2-Matt Rossi, 5. 9-Ryan Linder, 6. 78-Chris Bonneau, 7. 11g-Garrett Guilkey, 8. 74b-Derek Williams, 9. 29-Mike Bonneau.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 2. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 3. 23-Josh Castro, 4. 44-Nick Aiuto, 5. 97-Stevie Sussex, 6. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford, 8. 12x-Josh Grady.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 2. 7k-Bruce St. James, 3. 97-Stevie Sussex, 4. 32b-Brian Hosford, 5. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 6. 16-Mike Martin, 7. 11g-Garrett Guilkey, 8. 74b-Derek Williams, 9. 12x-Josh Grady. DNS: 29-Mike Bonneau.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 62-Danny Sheridan, 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 50-Charles Davis, Jr. 5. 93-Justin Quinn, 6. 2-Matt Rossi, 7. 6-Ronnie Clark, 8. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 9. 20-Shon Deskins, 10. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 11. 97-Stevie Sussex, 12. 78-Chris Bonneau, 13. 7k-Bruce St. James, 14. 32b-Brian Hosford, 15. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 16. 23-Josh Castro, 17. 9-Ryan Linder, 18. 44-Nick Aiuto, 19. 12-Josh Pelkey, 20. 8-Bob Ream, Jr.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jeremy Sherman 734, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 644, 3. R.J. Johnson 636, 4. Andrew Reinbold 586, 5. Ronnie Clark 583, 6. Matt Rossi 559, 7. Josh Pelkey 540, 8. Dalten Gabbard 534, 9. Bob Ream, Jr. 533, 10. Bruce St. James 496.