ventura raceway logo

By Cliff Morgan

The old saying, “It is the best of times, it is the worst of times” , holds meaning for Cory Kruseman after Saturday’s VRA Sprint Car race. Kruseman was the apparent winner of the race only to find that he did not finish the race with both mufflers intact and on the car. VRA Rules state that all cars must have mufflers at all times and Kruseman’s fell off just before he took the white flag. There was not enough time to black flag him so he took the checkered without the required muffler. After officials conferred and looked at the rules the decision was made to place Kruseman on the lap he finished at the time the muffler fell off, placing him in a final11th position for the race. Kruseman was informed and took the news in a positive manner understanding that the rule is the rule. The fact that he was placed lower does not diminish the great race he ran against Greg Taylor, Dakota Kershaw and Markus Niemela. The 30 lap race was one of the best seen this year with leaders and others changing position on each lap. Tom Harper led laps 1-5. On lap 6, Dakota Kershaw moved into the lead and then led until lap 18 when Kruseman moved into the lead and led to the finish. The problem Kruseman had moved Greg Taylor into the winners position and into the VRA point lead after 8 events. Finishing second through fifth were Markus Niemela, Dakota Kershaw, Josh Ford and Don Gansen. there were 24 cars signed into the pits Saturday with four heat races run. Wins went to Jimmy Crawford in heat one, Kruseman in heat two and Taylor in heat three. the 12 lap semi main went to Brent Camarillo.

VRA Midgets made their 4th appearance in the 2011 season Saturday night. There were 21 midgets signed into the pits. There were three heat races run with wins going to Matt Mitchell in heat one, Shannon McQueen in heat two and Victor Davis in heat three. The 30 lap feature was a fast and furious affair with pole sitter Danny Ebberts leading the first 27 laps only to lose the lead to a hard charging Robby Josett on lap 28. Josett then led the field to the finish for the win. Following Josett to the line were Ebberts, Cory
Kruseman, Jake Swanson and David Prickett. Kruseman’s third place finish keeps him in the season point race lead by 30 points over Josett.

VRA Sport Compact had a first time winner when Gary Marshall Jr. took his first win of the season. He started second on the field and took the lead from Ryan Changus on lap 2 and led to the checkered flag. He was followed by point leader Trevor Fitzgibbon, Brent Underwood, Cody Greiman and Ryan Changus. The one heat race went to Marshall as well.

Ford Focus Midgets ran in two divisions Saturday night. In the Regular focus class the win went to Nick Carlson over Wally Pankratz, Casey Martinez, Kyle Edwards and Jarid Blondell. Their heat race went to Pankratz. In Junior Focus racing the win went to three time VRA winner Cole Custer who led all 20 laps.
He was followed by Zack Bogner, Austin Blair Christine Breckinridge and Katlynn Leer. Austin Blair took their heat race win. Wally Pankratz leads in regular Focus points and Custer leads in Junior Focus points after three races this season.

The final class racing Saturday was our VRA Go Karts. There 20 karts signed into the pits. Heat race wins went to Richard Renken, Scott Bohle and Ashley Hazleton. The 20 lap feature went to Johnny Conley followed by James Locey, Renken, Dave Pankratz and Cody Nigh. Renken continues in the season point lead by 100 points over Locey and David Pankratz.

Ventura takes a weekend off next Saturday May 21. We will return to action on Saturday May 28, with a full program of racing featuring VRA Sprint Cars, VRA Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, Ford Focus and Junior
Focus as well as our VRA Go Karts.