Ramey Scores HOT ASCS Lone Star Win!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

WACO, Texas (June 10, 2011) – Kevin Ramey picked off his first American Sprint Car Series victory since the 2009 Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals by topping Friday night’s 25-lap The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region main event at Heart O’ Texas Speedway.

The three-time ASCS Regional champion took command on the 15th round and held off Eric Baldaccini and Michael Lang in a heated feature event to capture his 39th career overall ASCS feature win and fifth in Regional action atop Waco clay.

While Ramey started outside the second row, pole starter Lang led the bulk of the initial 14 rounds with third-starter Baldaccini edging into the lead once along the way.

Ramey finally took command and took the $2,000 triumph in front of reigning The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star champion Baldaccini, with Lang settling for the show position. Justin Melton was fourth, with Martin Edwards rounding out the top five.

Matt Covington maintained his Lone Star points lead by finishing sixth, with, Dale Wester, Evan Pardo, Brad Welborn and 17th-starter Claud Estes completing the top ten.

Wester, Covington and Edwards topped heat race action.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Results from Heart O’ Texas Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12-Dale Wester, 2. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 40-Junior Jenkins, 4. 79-Ryan Hall, 5. 54-Evan Pardo, 6. 74e-Claud Estes, 7. 24-Brandie Jass.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington, 2. 11-Justin Melton, 3. 76-John Ricketts, 4. 17w-Brad Welborn, 5. 20-Chad Wilson, 6. 7w-Dustin Welch.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 45-Martin Edwards, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 14b-Robert Byrom, 5. 33-Mark Huddleston, 6. 0c-Preston Peebles II.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 11-Justin Melton, 5. 45-Martin Edwards, 6. 11c-Matt Covington, 7. 12-Dale Wester, 8. 54-Evan Pardo, 9. 17w-Brad Welborn, 10. 74e-Claud Estes, 11. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 12. 79-Ryan Hall, 13. 40-Junior Jenkins, 14. 76-John Ricketts, 15. 14b-Robert Byrom, 16. 24-Brandie Jass, 17. 33-Mark Huddleston, 18. 20-Chad Wilson, 19. 7w-Dustin Welch.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Matt Covington 660, 2. Claud Estes 608, 3. Eric Baldaccini 577, 4. Martin Edwards 563, 5. Justin Melton 546, 6. Evan Pardo 526, 7. Michael Lang 513, 8. (tie) John Ricketts and Junior Jenkins 498, 10. Robert Byrom 490.