Kyle Simon Takes Waynesfield Win

Waynesfield Raceway park Logo
Waynesfield Raceway park Logo

By Gerry Keysor

Waynesfield Raceway Park finally beat Mother Nature Saturday night June 11th, as the first full racing program of 2011 was completed with a great night of racing for the fans in attendance.

Kicking off feature events for the regular program were the S&H Nerfs Non Wing Sprint Cars. #43g Rob Guy, and #23s Kyle Simon would lead the field to green with Simon grabbing the point. Carnage quickly ensued on lap 2 as Guy would spin in turns 3 and 4 causing the field to stack up and #63H Huston Hewitt would hop a wheel and flip violently into the turn 3 and 4 fence. Hewitt was able to walk away from the accident, but his car was destroyed in the melee. When racing resumed, Simon would continue to lead, but #82 Mike Miller from Wapak, Ohio would begin working the high side of the speedway and would close on the leader. Miller and Simon worked side by side from lap 6 until lap 11, when they began to encounter lapped traffic. The lapped cars allowed Simon to grab a couple car lengths advantage, but it would quickly be wiped out for the caution flag on lap 12 for the spinning #48H of Scott Hull. The #42 of Rick Horne, and #2m of Tom Rhaodes would get together as the field was slowing, and the drivers did some finger pointing and yelling before cooler heads prevailed and the drivers headed back to the pit area. On the restart, Defending track champion Matt Westfall, in the Simon Racing 22s, would begin a great battle with Miller, #40 Justin Grant, and #18 Todd Keen, which would be just enough to allow Simon to grab the victory with Miller a close 2nd, Grant 3rd, Westfall 4th, and Keen 5th.

Waynesfield Raceway Park returns to action next Saturday night June 18th with the S&H Nerfs Non Wing Sprint Cars, Dave’s Reliable Motors Tough Trucks, JR and Sons Service Center Compacts, and the invasion of the American Mini Sprint Association. It will be the AMSA’s first visit to WRP in 2011, and it should be a great program. Pit Gates open at 4PM, Grandstand Gates open at 5PM, Hot laps at 6PM and Racing at 7pm. General admission $12 for ages 16 and up, $6 for ages 11 to 15, and kids 10 and under get in FREE.

On Monday June 20th, the All Star Circuit of Champions invades Waynesfield as part of the 29th Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek. It will be the only visit in 2011 by the 410 winged warriors, and it should be a great event. Adding to the excitement of an already great event is the announcement that NASCAR Sprint Cup superstar Kasey Kahne will be competing against the All Stars and will be signing autographs at Waynesfield. Completing a great night of racing action will be the Dave’s Reliable Motors Tough Trucks.

Keep up to date on all the happenings at Waynesfield Raceway Park by visiting our website at, and also “like” us on Facebook by visiting

Waynesfield Raceway Park – 6/11/2011

JR and Sons Service Center Compacts (15 Cars)

[#]-Starting Position

A-Main – Makeup feature from May 21st (15 Laps)

1. 18-Gary Eaton Jr.[4]; 2. 17-Justin Durflinger[8]; 3. 31-Jeff Kimes[3]; 4. 1S-Mike Sawmiller[10]; 5. 1-Buck Purtee[6]; 6. 82-Harvey Yoder[1]; 7. 41-Ethan Pope[5]; 8. 18B-Holli Eaton[12]; 9. 27X-Robbie Tuttle[2]; 10. 1J-JJ Butler[9]; 11. 7C-Ron Masters[14]; 12. 11-Jordan Iiams[7]; 13. 20-Cody Kuepper[11]; 14. 3-Nick Kelly[13]; 15. 4-Terry Eaton[15]

Hard Charger: 17-Justin Durflinger[+6]

Block Thunder Stock Cars (13 Cars)

[#]-Starting Position

A-Main – Makeup feature from May 21st (15 Laps)

1. 71-Keith Ralston[5]; 2. 58P-Jim Post[8]; 3. 16-Jeff Koz[9]; 4. 48-Tim Cole[1]; 5. 52B-Sam Bodine[2]; 6. 19-Bill Reimund[10]; 7. 3-Randy Crossley[6]; 8. 27-Frank Paladino[11]; 9. 21Z-Pete Zuppardo[12]; 10. 62-Kevin Gossard[7]; 11. 21K-James Kepling[4]; 12. 71C-Barney Craig[3]; 13. 1-Michael Brooks[13]

Hard Charger: 58P-Jim Post[+6]

S&H Nerfs Non Wing Sprints (23 Cars)

[#]-Starting Position

Heat 1 – Heat 1 (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 82-Mike Miller[4] ; 2. 32M-Derek Hastings[1] ; 3. 23S-Kyle Simon[7] ; 4. 63-Jim Dues[2] ; 5. 21H-Tyler Hewitt[5] ; 6. 97-Devon Dobie[6] ; 7. 34-Kevin Klatte[3] ; 8. 40H-Travis Hery[8]

Heat 2 – Heat 2 (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 18-Todd Keen[7] ; 2. 8C-Lewie Christian[4] ; 3. 43G-Rob Guy[1] ; 4. 37K-Kyle Conaway[2] ; 5. 48H-Scott Hull[8] ; 6. 42-Rick Horne[5] ; 7. 7-Tim Calicoat[3] ; 8. 9N-Jon Nelson[6]

Heat 3 – Heat 3 (8 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 22S-Matt Westfall[5] ; 2. 40-Justin Grant[7] ; 3. 2M-Tom Rhoades[3] ; 4. 48-Tommy Kerce[1] ; 5. 63H-Huston Hewitt[6] ; 6. 21W-Dennis Ward[2] ; 7. 18B-Tim Fox[4]

B-Main – (10 Laps – Top 5 finishers transfer to the A-feature)

1. 97-Devon Dobie[1] ; 2. 34-Kevin Klatte[4] ; 3. 42-Rick Horne[2] ; 4. 40H-Travis Hery[7] ; 5. 18B-Tim Fox[6] ; 6. 21W-Dennis Ward[3] ; 7. 9N-Jon Nelson[8] ; 8. 7-Tim Calicoat[5]

A-Main – (20 Laps)

1. 23S-Kyle Simon[2]; 2. 82-Mike Miller[8]; 3. 40-Justin Grant[3]; 4. 22S-Matt Westfall[6]; 5. 18-Todd Keen[7]; 6. 37K-Kyle Conaway[11]; 7. 63-Jim Dues[10]; 8. 48H-Scott Hull[14]; 9. 8C-Lewie Christian[4]; 10. 32M-Derek Hastings[5]; 11. 21H-Tyler Hewitt[13]; 12. 97-Devon Dobie[16]; 13. 34-Kevin Klatte[17]; 14. 48-Tommy Kerce[12]; 15. 40H-Travis Hery[19]; 16. 43G-Rob Guy[1]; 17. 18B-Tim Fox[20]; 18. 2M-Tom Rhoades[9]; 19. 42-Rick Horne[18]; 20. 63H-Huston Hewitt[15]

Hard Charger: 82-Mike Miller[+6]