By Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will honor the memory of sprint car
driver Joe Whitcomb with the eighth annual running of the Joe Whitcomb
Memorial for 358 sprint cars at 7 p.m. Saturday, June 18. Track gates will
open at 5 p.m.

The 30-lap sprint car feature, a tribute to honor the late open wheel racer
from Millersburg who succumbed to injuries sustained in a sprint car racing
accident at the track on June 21, 2003, will pay $1,771 to win and $225 to
start. Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format
for the second extra-distance race of the season for the 358 sprint cars.

Fast Tees of Thompsontown will sponsor a $100 bonus to the fastest
qualifier as part of the Fast Tees Fast Time Award in Memory of Jim Nace
for 2011. The Middleburg IGA will present the championship trophy to the
winner of the tribute race. The speedway will also host members of the York
County Racing Club this Saturday.

Joining the 358 sprint cars on Saturday’s racing card will be the late
models, pro stocks, and roadrunners. The pro stocks will also complete
their feature from the rain out on June 4. Speedway officials postponed the
switch to the track’s 7:30 p.m. summer start time until June 25 due to the
sprint car time trials and additional pro stock feature on this Saturday
night’s agenda.

Previous winners of the Whitcomb Memorial include Nate Snyder of Halifax
(2004); Kevin Nagy of East Brunswick, N.J. (2005); Blane Heimbach of
Selinsgrove (2006, 2007, 2008); and two-time defending winner Pat Cannon of

A dedicated racer most of his life, Whitcomb began his career in go karts
at the age of seven. He won hundreds of races in karting and was a
three-time national karting champion. A highlight during his karting career
was an appearance on ESPN.

Whitcomb became a regular competitor in 358 sprint car racing at
Selinsgrove Speedway in 2001 driving his trademark blue and yellow No. 71
racer. That year Whitcomb was named Selinsgrove Speedway’s Sportsman of the

He won his first sprint car race at Selinsgrove on June 8, 2002, ending the
five-race win streak of champion Chad Layton. Whitcomb followed up that
victory with another one on June 22, 2002, at Selinsgrove. He also won
sprint car races at Williams Grove and Bridgeport Speedways during his

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present a program of go karts and micro
sprint cars at 7 p.m. Friday, June 17. Defending champion Todd Hoover of
Mt. Pleasant Mills took the lead in the Selinsgrove Ford micro sprint car
point standings following his second win in a row in last Friday night’s
main event.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit
selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway
office can also be reached at 570.374.2999.

Admission Fees for June 18:
Adults: $13
Students (12-17): $10
Kids 11 & Under: Free
Pit Passes: $20