Ott Wins 358/360 Sprint Car Challenge at Lincoln

From Lincoln Speedway, image courtesy of

Abbottstown, PA — (July 13, 2011) — Super sprint regular Aaron Ott put on a clinic in coming from 12th starting spot to claim the 25-lap MACH 1 Chassis 358/360 Sprint Car Challenge.

Ott chased down front row starter and race-long leader Lance Dewease with a low-side crossover move exiting turn two of the next-to-last lap to score the $3,000 win.

“I was good on the bottom if I carried speed in, and I saw that he just missed it a little bit and I saw he was sliding up,” said Ott of the race-winning move, “Lance is a really clean racer and he didn’t come down and chop me. He left an opening, and I went right back up to the top. Then the yellow comes out. God didn’t want us to win tonight, but we did, and I think He was along on the ride.”

Dewease settled for second, with Pat Cannon, Logan Schuchart, and polesitter Curt Michael rounding out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Mark Smith, Niki Young, Jason Clauss, Gerard McIntyre, Jr., and Bryn Gohn.

Heats for the 29 sprinters were won by Ott, Dewease, McIntyre, and Michael, with Jeff Rohrbaugh winning the consolation.

This Saturday night, July 16th, at 7:30 PM, it will be Pepsi Night with the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprint and Thundercars regulars being joined by the invading United Racing Company (URC) Sprints. Gates will open at 5:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

MACH 1 Chassis 358/360 Sprint Car Challenge:
Feature (25 laps) – 1. 77-Aaron Ott; 2. 21-Lance Dewease; 3. 3-Pat Cannon; 4. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 5. 5G-Curt Michael; 6. 7M-Mark Smith; 7. 65-Niki Young; 8. 08-Jason Clauss; 9. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 10. 22-Bryn Gohn; 11. 7C-Chad Trout; 12. 55-Dave Ely; 13. 88-Rory Janney; 14. 0-Steve Storrie; 15. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 16. 85-Nathan Berwager; 17. 27-Jay Galloway; 18. 12-Mike Bittinger; 19. 55W-Logan Wagner; 20. 13-Kevin Ward, Jr.; 21. 45N-Kevin Nagy (DNF); 22. 94-Tim Wagaman (DNF); 23. 92-Kevin Nouse (DNF); 24. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Lance Dewease (1-23), Aaron Ott (24-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 77-Aaron Ott; 2. 22-Bryn Gohn; 3. 7M-Mark Smith; 4. 55W-Logan Wagner; 5. 0-Steve Storrie; 6. 45R-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 7. 28-Keith Prutzman; 8. 67-Jason Cherry. No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 21-Lance Dewease; 2. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 3. 88-Rory Janney; 4. 45N-Kevin Nagy; 5. 94-Tim Wagaman; 6. 1W-Eric Tomecek (DNF); 7. 92-Kevin nouse (DNF). No Time

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 2. 3-Pat Cannon; 3. 08-Jason Clauss; 4. 5S5-Dave Ely; 5. 85-Nathan Berwager; 6. 23-Chris Arnold; 7. 13-Kevin Ward (DNF). No Time

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 5G-Curt Michael; 2. 65-Niki Young; 3. 7C-Chad Trout; 4. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 5. 27-Jay Galloway; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger; 7. 50-Tim Berkheimer (DNF). No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 92-Kevin Nouse; 3. 12-Mike Bittinger; 4. 13-Kevin Ward, Jr.; 5. 23-Chris Arnold; 6. 28-Keith Prutzman; 7. 67-Jason Cherry; DNS – 50-Tim Berkheimer. No Time