Blank Wins Feature and Track Championship at Double-X

From Double-X Speedway

California, MO (August 14, 2011)- It was a night for the newly crowned track champions to shine at Double X Speedway on Sunday night.

In the Mr. G’s 360 sprint cars, Tyler Blank took his third win of the season and also the 2011 track championship.

Lanny Carpenter shot into the lead at the start as he was followed by Adam Jones and Blank.

Two yellows for a stopped Scott Comstock and for a David Brown spin would stop the action in the first three laps.

On the restart, both Blank and Cody Baker would get by Jones as Carpenter again took command.

Carpenter set a torrid pace at the front with Blank stalking him.
As the pair was about set to complete lap twelve, Carpenter got too high and hit the turn four wall as Blank drove underneath. Carpenter went into turn one trying to get the lead back and his right rear tire blew and he went off the track in turn one ending his fine run.

Blank would not be denied over the final half of the race as he would win by nearly half a lap in his Blank’s Backhoe/Machens Auto Group GF-1 with a stout Patriot motor. Baker ran second in the Ted Hall owned XXX powered by a Hall motor. Jones was third in the Wireless Horizon/Harry J’s Steakhouse Hovis-powered JEI. T.J. Muths and Tyler Utz rounded out the top five. Heat races were won by Jones and Carpenter.

In the Cooper Racing street stocks, California’s John Clancy picked up his eighth win of the season and also took home the track championship. Tipton’s Tim Cressley edged Fulton’s Cole Graves for second at the flagstand. Rounding out the top five were Henley’s Andrew Roark and Jefferson City’s Curtis Turpin. Clancy and Turpin were heat winners.

Sedalia’s Will Register picked up his sixth feature win of the season in the Robbie D’s hobby stocks and also claimed the track championship. Chase Gibson of Sedalia was second followed by California’s Bridget Clifford in third. Rounding out the top five were California’s Rudy Wirts and Centertown’s Seth Jacobs. Lori Wineland of Syracuse won the heat race.

Sedalia’s Cole Melby continued his domination of the 600 micro specials at Double X as he scored another win. Melby was followed by Corey Nelson of Eugene and Drew Shively of Columbia. Rounding out the top five for the seventeen car field were Cole Campbell of Mexico and Scott Hathman of Columbia. Heat winners were Melby and Nelson.

2011 Point Championship info will be updated at

Racing at Double-X Speedway will resume in May of 2012.

360 sprint summary-

Heat race winners-Adam Jones and Lanny Carpenter

A Main- 1. 75 Tyler Blank, California, MO(3) 2. 38 Cody Baker, Lone Jack, MO(5) 3. 1A Adam Jones, Wright City, MO(1) 4. 65 T. J. Muths, Sedalia, MO(6) 5. 3V Tyler Utz, Sedalia, MO(7) 6. 48 David Brown, Marshall, MO(4) 7. 49 Tyler Elliott, California, MO(9) 8. 5M Miranda Arnold, Sedalia, MO(8)-DNF 9. 31 Matt McGarry, Alma, MO(10)-DNF 10. 24 Lanny Carpenter, Clarksburg, MO(2)-DNF 11. XX Scott Comstock, Tipton, MO(11)-DNF