Loyet Lands ASCS Warrior Honors in Lake Ozark Nationals Prelim!

American Sprint Car Series ASCS Warrior Region Logo 2011

Lonnie Wheatley

ELDON, Mo. (September 3, 2011) – Brad Loyet extended his Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region points lead by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap Ninth Annual Lake Ozark Speedway Nationals preliminary feature event.

Taking the $2,000 winner’s share aboard the Don Ott-powered Loyet Landscape/Vacuworx International No. 05 Maxim, the 23-year-old from Sunset Hills, MO, locked himself into Sunday’s Lake Ozark Speedway Nationals finale along with Jason Johnson, Seth Bergman and Mike Goodman, who were the next three across the stripe.

Starting from the pole position, Loyet led the first round before fellow front row starter Kyle Bellm took command on the second circuit. Bellm’s lead was shortlived however, as a cut left rear tire under a caution after three laps forced him to the tail of the field after a quick stop in the work area.

Loyet led the rest of the way for his third ASCS Warrior win of the season, while seventh-starter Jason Johnson of Eunice, LA, battled past Goodman and Bergman in the final rounds to claim runner-up honors.

Bergman beat Goodman to the stripe for the show position, with 10th-starter Jack Dover missing a lock-in position by one position in fifth. Zach Chappell was sixth, with Tyler Blank, Dustin Morgan, Brian Brown and Brady Bacon completing the top ten.

Dover, Jonathan Cornell, Brown, Bellm and Goodman topped heat race action for the 42-car field, with Tony Bruce, Jr., and Gary Taylor winning the twin “B” Mains.

Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Results from Lake Ozark Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 1a-Adam Jones, 3. 6-Bryan Grimes, 4. 5m-Miranda Arnold, 5. 88-J. Kinder, 6. 7T-Gary Taylor, 7. 33-Austin Alumbaugh, 8. 5-Matt Close, 9. 99-Brady Bacon (Disqualified; failed to meet minimum weight after finishing second).

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 2. 41-Jason Johnson, 3. 22-Dustin Barks, 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 11c-Matt Covington, 6. 3p-Rusty Potter, 7. 3z-Zach Davis, 8. 29-Rusty Quick, 9. 35g-Barry Gifford.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 05-Brad Loyet, 3. 2-Dustin Morgan, 4. 3-Mark Shirshekan, 5. 21T-Eric Todd, 6. 4-Evan Martin, 7. 8w-Jordan Whitehead, 8. 93-Taylor Walton.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 86-Kyle Bellm, 2. 14s-Wayne Johnson, 3. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 4. 7-Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. 17-Kyle Carpenter, 6. 27-Mark Finnell, 7. 49-Tyler Elliott, 8, 4j-Jon Corbin.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 11g-Mike Goodman, 2. 50z-Zach Chappell, 3. 75-Tyler Blank, 4. 9m-Cody Baker, 5. 65-T.J. Muths, 6. 09-Josh Stephens, 7. 23s-Robbie Standridge, 8. 14-Randy Martin.

First “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 7-Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. 88-J. Kinder, 3. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 4. 4-Evan Martin, 5. 33-Austin Alumbaugh, 6. 27-Mark Finnell, 7. 35g-Barry Gifford, 8. 8w-Jordan Whitehead, 9. 21T-Eric Todd, 10. 4j-Jon Corbin, 11. 65-T.J. Muths, 12. 3z-Zach Davis. DNS: 93-Taylor Walton.

Second “B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 7T-Gary Taylor, 2. 22-Dustin Barks, 3. 99-Brady Bacon, 4. 9m-Cody Baker, 5. 17-Kyle Carpenter, 6. 11c-Matt Covington, 7. 3p-Rusty Potter, 8. 29-Rusty Quick, 9. 09-Josh Stephens, 10. 5-Matt Close, 11. 23s-Robbie Standridge, 12. 14-Randy Martin, 13. 49-Tyler Elliott.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 05-Brad Loyet, 2. 41-Jason Johnson, 3. 23-Seth Bergman, 4. 11g-Mike Goodman, 5. 53-Jack Dover, 6. 50z-Zach Chappell, 7. 75-Tyler Blank, 8. 2-Dustin Morgan, 9. 21-Brian Brown, 10. 99-Brady Bacon, 11. 7T-Gary Taylor, 12. 3-Mark Shirshekan, 13. 28-Jonathan Cornell, 14. 7-Tony Bruce, Jr., 15. 14s-Wayne Johnson, 16. 88-J. Kinder, 17. 6-Bryan Grimes, 18. 86-Kyle Bellm, 19. 1a-Adam Jones, 20. 2a-Randy Hibbs, 21. 5m-Miranda Arnold, 22. 22-Dustin Barks.

Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Brad Loyet 1,793, 2. Randy Martin 1,570, 3. Kyle Bellm 1,561, 4. Jonathan Cornell 1,535, 5. Mark Shirshekan 1,475, 6. Cody Baker 1,411, 7. Josh Stephens 1,317, 8. Tyler Blank 1,164, 9. Austin Alumbaugh 998, 10. Miranda Arnold 921.