2011 Knoxville Raceway Banquet Doles out $250,000 in Cash and Contingencies!

knoxville Raceway logo

From Bill W.

Knoxville, IA — (November 19, 2011) — The Knoxville Raceway banquet was held on Saturday, November 19 at the Grand Ballroom in the Prairie Meadows Hotel in Altoona, Iowa. Headlining the night’s events were an assortment of items for the competitors in addition to their prize money.

A total of six chassis, 26 wing packages, two sets of heads, two sets of quick change rear-ends, nine rear wheel sets, two fuel pumps and two Autometer Gauges were handed out to drivers (see prize list with winners below). In addition, the Knoxville Raceway Charitable Organization (KRCO) again provided insurance covering all Knoxville drivers for 2011 anywhere they may race plus more safety gear.

Director of Marketing and Sales, Brian Stickel, opened the program up with a reminder for drivers that they have access to their own internet site through the track’s website. The features provide a way for fans to become more familiar with the drivers, and to receive discounts on tickets to the Knoxville Raceway using their driver’s code. For more information on setting up your driver page, e-mail editor@knoxvilleraceway.com.

Contingencies were handed out next, and for the second year in a row, were done by draw in front of the banquet crowd of over 500. Chassis winners included Nate Van Haaften, David Hall and Casey Friedrichsen in the 360 class, and the Austin McCarl, Mark Johnson and Josh Schneiderman in the 410 class (see complete list below).

Outgoing Race Director, Ralph Capitani thanked fans, drivers, officials and everyone on hand for supporting him in his 45 years of service to Knoxville Raceway. Before receiving a standing ovation, “Cappy” was awarded the “Heritage Award” and the “410 Promoter of the Year Award” from the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum’s Bob Baker. In addition, Marion County Fairboard president, Terry Harvey, presented him with his famous golf cart, having driven it in to the ballroom.

Cappy presented the “Fan of the Year Award” to long-time fan and promoter of sprint car racing, Junior Briggs. He also awarded the “Hard Luck Award” to the VanderEcken #10 driven by Rager Phillips. Phillips came a lap short of qualifying for the Knoxville Nationals feature event before a cracked header derailed his run.

Matt Moro was the “Junior Fan Club Driver of the Year” in the 360 class for the third time in the last four years, while Terry McCarl won the award for the third time in his career in the 410 class. Ben VandeKamp accepted his award as “Junior Fan of the Year” as well.

West Burlington Iowa’s Bart Schneiderman who owns cars for sons Josh and Jarrod Schneiderman received the honor of 410 “Owner of the Year”, while Colorado’s Ricky Montgomery took home the same award in the 360 class. Davey Heskin was the honoree in the “Sportsman of the Year” category in the 410 class. He was joined in the 360 class by David Hall. “Rookie of the Year” Awards went out to Kevin Swindell (410), Casey Friedrichsen (360) and Carson McCarl (305).

The “Lyle Boyd Hard Charger Award” awards the drivers who passed the most cars in A main events this season. Russ Hall received the award in the 360 class, Mark Dobmeier was the 410 winner, and Jamie Ball won in the 305 class. Nate Van Haaften (360) and Austin McCarl (410), who won for the second year in a row, were named the “Most Improved Driver” in their respective classes.

During the evening, new General Manager, Toby Kruse, introduced himself to the large throng. He announced that plans are underway to build on the excitement at the Knoxville Raceway in 2011, and interaction between drivers and fans will be emphasized. Toby also mentioned a few minor changes. Stay tuned to www.KnoxvilleRaceway.com for more information!

Drivers outside of the top five in the 305, 360 and 410 classes received their accolades.

The big hardware went out last to the top five drivers and owners in the point standings. In the 305 class, Matthew Stelzer (5th), Tasker Phillips (4th), Mitchell Alexander (3rd), Jamie Ball (2nd) and Carson McCarl (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Earl Tice (5th), Stelzer (4th), Alexander (3rd), Larry Ball Jr. (2nd), and Terry & Lori McCarl (champion) received their owner awards. McCarl and Ball will move to the 360 class in 2012.

In the 360 class, Jon Agan (5th), Russ Hall (4th), Matt Moro (3rd), Chad Humston (2nd) and Clint Garner (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Agan (5th), Mike Waddell (4th), Moro (3rd), Mark Burch (2nd), and Boyd and Glenda Fluth (champion) received owner awards. The championships were the third in a row for Garner and the Fluth’s. Garner announced he will return to defend his title in 2012.

In the 410 class, Mark Dobmeier (5th), Terry McCarl (4th), Kevin Swindell (3rd), Dusty Zomer (2nd) and Danny Lasoski (champion) were drivers honored, while owner awards went to Lunstra/Dobmeier (5th), Tony VerMeer (4th), Big Game Treestands (3rd), Derek Ingalls (2nd) and Lasoski (champion). The championship was the ninth for Lasoski as a driver.

Contingency Winners by Draw…

Chassis – 360: David Hall (J&J), Nate Van Haaften (Eagle), Casey Friedrichsen (Maxim); 410: Josh Schneiderman (J&J), Austin McCarl (Maxim), Mark Johnson (Eagle)

HRP Wings – 305: TJ Peterson, Matthew Stelzer, Cale Hutchings, Bart Friedrichsen; 360: Tom Lenz, Alan Zoutte, Clint Garner, Dennis Moore Jr., Jimmy Davies; 410: Bob Weuve, Dusty Zomer, Danny Lasoski, Bronson Maeschen, Kevin Swindell

Vortex Wings – 360: Jon Agan, Chad Humston, Rod Richards, Jarrod Schneiderman, Tyler Groenendyk, Chad Heimbaugh; 410: Davey Heskin, Don Droud Jr., Mike Moore, Lynton Jeffrey, Mark Dobmeier, AJ Moeller

Autometer Gauge – 305: Carson McCarl, Steve Palmer

DMI Quick Change Rear-end – 360: Russ Hall, 410: Ryan Bunton

Waterman Fuel Pump Set – 360: Ricky Montgomery, 410: Robby Wolfgang

All Pro Heads – 410: Rager Phillips

Brodix Cylinder Heads – 360: Matt Moro

Butlerbuilt Seat – 305: Keith Carlberg, Matt Stephenson

Real Wheel Rear Wheel Sets – 305: Jamie Ball, Mitchell Alexander, Alan Ambers; 360: Joe Beaver, Tasker Phillips, Larry Ball Jr.; 410: Mike Houseman Jr., Terry McCarl, Dustin Selvage

Wheel Wrench – 305: Bob Hildreth

For more info, visit www.KnoxvilleRaceway.com!