Stewart Wins at Perth

Perth Motorplex
Perth Motorplex

From Perth Motorplex

American Shane Stewart claimed his second feature race win in a week, winning the 25-lap Sprintcar feature race from Jamie Maiolo and Brooke Tatnell at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night.

He started from pole and led all the way and showed why he is one of the best in the world.

Tasmanian Shaun Dobson was fourth in the latest Motorplex round.

“I just can’t thank Luch (team owner Luch Monte) enough for keeping me out here,” Stewart said after the win.

“He is keeping me behind the wheel so when I do go back to America I will be pretty fresh.”

Maiolo was second and strengthened his lead in the series-long championships.

“I would not normally be happy to run second, but Shane is no slouch,” Maiolo said.

He said the #99 car was pretty “nice” in the feature race.

Tatnell said it was good to stay in WA and said his family enjoyed the strong connection with the Day family.

David Priolo was out early, spinning on the back straight in the first lap.

Ryan Farrell, who started on the front row with Stewart, was in a strong position until he withdrew with 14 laps remaining.

Watsons Express Transport Sprintcars Qualifying: Shane Stewart 14.878, Brooke Tatnell 14.883, Jason Kendrick 14.960, Mark Wells 15.007, David Priolo 15.065, Shaun Dobson 15.146, Ben Ellement 15.210, Jamie Maiolo 15.213, Ryan Farrell 15.268, Trent Pigdon 15.342, Bradley Maiolo, 15.353, Kaley Gharst 15.361, Shaun Bradford 15.391, Troy Little 15.566, Carl Dowling 16.541, Kye Scroop 16.862, Daniel Harding 17.112, Jason Boland 17.409, Nathan Brady 17.569, Robert Watson junior 18.002, Trevor Harding 18.267, Russell Taylor 18.673.

Heat 1: 1st Carl Dowling, 2nd Nathan Brady, 3rd Ryan Farrell, 4th Shaun Bradford, 5th Ben Ellement, 6th David Priolo, 7th Bradley Maiolo, 8th Shane Stewart, 9th Jason Kendrick, 10th Daniel Harding, 11th Trevor Harding.

Heat 2: 1st Troy Little, 2nd Trent Pigdon, 3rd Robert Watson, 4th Shaun Dobson, 5th Kye Scroop, 6th Kaley Gharst, 7th Mark Wells, 8th Jamie Maiolo, 9th Jason Boland, 10th Brooke Tatnell, 11th Russell Taylor.

Heat 3: 1st Jamie Maiolo, 2nd Nathan Brady, 3rd Robert Watson junior, 4th Kaley Gharst, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Carl Dowling, 7th Ben Ellement, 8th Mark Wells, 9th Kye Scroop, 10th Bradley Maiolo, 11th Russell Taylor.

Heat 4: 1st Shaun Bradford, 2nd Ryan Farrell, 3rd Troy Little, 4th Shaun Dobson, 5th Shane Stewart, 6th David Priolo 7th Brooke Tatnell, 8th Trent Pigdon, 9th Daniel Harding, 10th Jason Boland, 11th Trevor Harding.

Final: 1st Shane Stewart, 2nd Jamie Maiolo, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th Shaun Dobson, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Mark Wells, 7th Ben Ellement, 8th Robert Watson junior, 9th Troy Little, 10th Nathan Brady, 11th Daniel Harding, 12th Kye Scroop, 13th Jason Boland, 14th Bradley Maiolo, 15th Trevor Harding. DNF: Russell Taylor, Ryan Farrell, Carl Dowling, Trent Pigdon, Kaley Gharst, Shaun Bradford and David Priolo.

Marlin Walsh won the 12-lap Wingless Sprints final from Adrian La Macchia and Daniel Coleman.

Walsh opened his account with a pair of fifths in the opening races which gave him a front-row side alongside Glen Francis.

“That makes for easy racing when it is a good track like this,” Walsh said after the win.

LaMacchia won the first race and was sixth in the following one, seeing him start from seventh in the final.

“That is unreal,” LaMacchia said.

“I was all over Marlin..I was trying and trying.

“The car is just fantastic tonight.”

Coleman was driving the #45 car normally driven by Darryl Clayden.

He started the night with an 11th before bouncing back with a fourth in race two, setting up a second-row start.

“I have to thank Darryl Clayden for the race car tonight, hopefully we will have one soon.”

Heat 1: 1st Adrian La Macchia, 2nd Marshall McDiarmid, 3rd Scott Elst, 4th Allan Nash, 5th Marlin Walsh, 6th Troy Wilson, 7th Ben Migro, 8th Glen Francis, 9th Tom Britton, 10th Travis Southwell, 11th Daniel Coleman, 12th Phil Taylor, 13th Peter Francis. DNF: Jono Coyle.

Heat 2: 1st 1st Scott Elst, 2nd Marshall McDiarmid, 3rd Troy Wilson, 4th Daniel Coleman, 5th Marlin Walsh, 6th Adrian La Machia, 7th Allan Nash, 8th Jono Coyle, 9th Glen Francis, 10th Ben Migro, 11th Tom Britton, 12th Travis Southwell, 13th Phil Taylor. DNF: Peter Francis.

Final: 1st Marlin Walsh, 2nd Adrian LaMacchia, 3rd Daniel Coleman, 4th Marshall McDiarmid, 5th Troy Wilson, 6th Tom Britton, 7th Glen Francis, 8th Ben Migro, 9th Scott Elst, 10th Travis Southwell, 11th Phil Taylor, 12th Peter Francis. DNF: Allan Nash and Jono Coyle.