From Jim Hanks

Holly, MI – May 15, 2012 – Canadian, Gary Morton,
was the last man to ever win a Super Modified race
at Winchester Speedway. In fact, he won the last two
events there. He won the 1989 and 1990 fall events
at the speedway. Supers haven’t raced at Winchester
Speedway in nearly twenty-two years. So technically,
Morton has a winning streak that currently stands at
twenty-three years.
Morton will be at the track this Sunday for the first time since 1990 when Must See Racing will debut its
new Super Modified series. Morton wont be behind the wheel, but he will be supporting the event as a car
owner with Brampton, Ontario, Canada’s Dave McKnight behind the wheel of his familiar #70.
Morton recently recalled that chilly early November 1990 Sunday afternoon when Supers last ran
Winchester Speedway. ” The last time we were there we got booed by the fans ” Morton recalls. ” It
wasn’t a pretty day. We tore up a lot of cars and they red flagged it. The fans got impatient. They ran
some other stuff so we could get some cars repaired and finish the race. I ended up winning it “. Perhaps
Sundays event will go a lot smoother than that long ago 1990 event.
Morton’s vast experience at the legendary Indiana speedway should help his driver out tremendously.
The duo will be battling several other teams for a hefty payday.The winners share for Sunday’s event will
be one of the biggest paydays of the year for the division. $6,000 will be on the line with another $1000
being paid for fast time thanks to BIOBASED.US as part of their ‘ Winners Circle Bonus ‘ sponsorship.
The event will have several significant headlines. This will be the first time in twenty-two years Supers
have raced at Winchester. In addition, the new MSRSMS will be hosting its inaugural event. This will be
the first time in the history of the speedway that Supers have raced with wings.
The entry early entry list was announced last week. Several name drivers including: AJ Russell, Tanner
Swanson, Kody Swanson, Jack Smith, Kevin Shirey, Sondi Eden, Cord Ehrhart, Brandon Fisher, Jeff
Gibson, Jon Henes, Gene Lee Gibson, Paul White, Larry Lehnert, Jim Paller, Matt Palmer, and Rich Reid
headline the early entries.
The ‘ Xtreme Speed Challenge ‘ is shaping up to be arguably one of the biggest open wheel events of
2012. The Sprint Car entry list is already highlighted by Tampa, Florida’s Dave Steele who will be
returning to competitive competition in the Midwest for the first time in two seasons. Other entries include,
Tanner Swanson and Brian Olson, who picked up Must See Racing victories in events last month to kick
off the 2012 season. Two-time defending MSRXSS champion Troy DeCaire is also entered. Others early
entries include: Dave Baumgartner, Jason Blonde, Jeff Bloom, Collin Cabre, Jerry Caryer, Jason Cox,
Todd Fayard, Kyle Flint, Brian Gerster, Kyle Hamilton, Jo Jo Helberg, Mike Larrison, Hank Lower, Jimmy
McCune, Aaron Pierce, Kody Swanson, Jacob Wilson, and Billy Wease.
Multi-time United States Auto Club (USAC) champion and Indy 500 starter, Tom Bigelow, will serve as
honorary Grand Marshal for this event. A meet and greet with fans is planned. Bigelow currently resides
in Winchester and enjoyed great success at the speedway as a driver during his racing career.
There will be an open practice one day before the event May 19 from 2 – 6 P.M. to give teams additional
track time. The Full Throttle Modifieds and Vore’s Welding FWD Compacts will also be part of this racing
Tickets for the ‘ Xtreme Speed Challenge ‘ are now on sale. Fans are encouraged to get tickets early to
avoid long lines at the ticket window the day of the event. Call (248) 535-5575 to purchase tickets or log
onto www.mustseeracing.com for additional details