selinsgrove speedway

selinsgrove speedwayFrom Selinsgrove Speedway

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will honor the memory of sprint car driver Joe Whitcomb with the ninth annual running of the Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358 sprint cars at 7:30 p.m. this Saturday, June 16. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

The 30-lap sprint car feature, a tribute to honor the late open wheel racer from Millersburg who succumbed to injuries sustained in a sprint car racing accident at the track on June 21, 2003, will pay $2,071 to win and $250 to start. Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format for the second extra-distance race of the season for the 358 sprint cars.

A&A Auto Stores will be the title sponsor of Saturday’s four division show, which will also feature late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners. Returning this season as the 358 sprint car point fund sponsor, A&A Auto Stores are located throughout central and north eastern Pennsylvania, including a store just north of the speedway on Routes 11 & 15. Visit aaautostores.com to browse inventory and find a location.

Previous winners of the Whitcomb Memorial include Nate Snyder of Halifax (2004); Kevin Nagy of East Brunswick, N.J. (2005); Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2006, 2007, 2008); Pat Cannon of Etters (2009, 2010); and defending winner TJ Stutts of Liverpool.

Whitcomb, a dedicated racer most of his life, began his career in go-karts at the age of seven. He won hundreds of races in karting and was a three-time national karting champion. A highlight during his karting career was an appearance on ESPN.

In 2001, Whitcomb became a regular competitor in Selinsgrove in the 358 sprint car, driving his trademark blue and yellow number 71 racer. That year, Whitcomb became Selinsgrove Speedway’s Sportsman of the Year.

Whitcomb won his first sprint car race at Selinsgrove on June 8, 2002, ending the five-race winning streak of champion Chad Layton. Whitcomb also won sprint car races at Williams Grove and Bridgeport Speedways during his racing career.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present a program of go kart and micro sprint car racing at 7 p.m. this Friday, June 15.

Following this weekend’s racing action, Selinsgrove Speedway will present the Race of Champions (RoC) big block modifieds in the “School’s Out Special” at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 19, sponsored by the Alexander Family Dealerships.

The big block modifieds, making their second stop of the season at the historic half-mile oval, will compete in a 35-lap main event paying $4,000 to win. Also on the racing card will be the roadrunners. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, N.J., won the Icebreaker 40 for the big block modifieds at Selinsgrove on March 17.

The RoC modified tour will then visit the Lincoln Speedway in Abbottstown on Wednesday, June 20, for the second annual “Battle at Lincoln” at 7:30 p.m. Also competing will be the 358-360 sprint cars in race number three in the Mach 1 Chassis Mid-Atlantic 360 Sprint Car Championship Series.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570-374-2999.

Purse for 2012 Whitcomb Memorial for 358 Sprint Cars (June 16): 1) $2,071 2) $1,300 3) $1,200 4) $1,100 5) $1,000 6) $650 7) $500 8) $450 9) $400 10) $375 11) $350 12) $325 13) $300 14) $275 15-25) $250

Admission Fees for June 16:
Adults: $14
Students (12-17): $12
Kids 11 & Under: Free
Pit Passes: $25