Shoe 2 Wins at Sandusky

From Sandusky Speedway

Sandusky, OH — (June 30, 2012) — The Town Money Saver Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) Supermodifieds wrapped up the month of June at Sandusky Speedway on Saturday June 30, 2012. Bills Auto of Sandusky sponsored the evenings racing program that also featured the Ignitable Technologies Modifieds and Street Stocks. In the MSA qualifying it was Dave Shullick Jr. topping the field with a time of 14.567. Shullick Jr. also won the second heat race. Jeff Banyas was the winner of the first MSA heat race.

The Town Money Saver Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) Supermodifieds would be pushed out next for their thirty lap feature race. The front row was Mike McVetta and A.J. Lesiecki leading the field to the green flag. It would be McVetta, the defending Buckeye Super Sprint champion, taking the early lead followed by Bobby Dawson. The caution waved on lap three when Edwards broke going into turn two. Edwards would be out of the running. The restart was McVetta, Dawson, Jon Henes, Matt Marlowe and Charlie Schultz. McVetta led as Henes took to the inside groove to challenge Dawson for second. Henes took over second and was closing in on McVetta for the lead. Running third was Dave Shullick Jr. The caution waved on lap seven when Schultz spun on the front straight. The restart would be McVetta, Henes, Shullick Jr., Dawson and Trent Stephens. When flagman Will Patterson displayed the green flag it was Shullick Jr. rocketing into the lead. The running order was now Shullick Jr., Henes, McVetta, Stephens and Dawson. Stephens got past McVetta for third as Shullick Jr. opened up a half straight lead by the mid point of the race. The top five on lap twenty was Shullick Jr., Henes, Stephens, McVetta and Dawson. Shullick Jr. had increased his lead to nearly a front straightaway.The caution flag waved with two laps to go when McVetta spun in turn two. The race was red flagged at this point as oil was around the entire track and a major clean up was needed. When the clean up was completed the top five running order for the restart would be Shullick Jr., Stephens, McVetta, Dawson and Marlowe. It would be a green, white, checkered finish as Shullick Jr. once again pulled out to a comfortable lead and held strong to the checkered flag for his third MSA feature win of the season.

MSA Supermodifieds
Fast Qualifier – Dave Shullick Jr. (N.Ridgeville) 14.567

Heat # 1 – Jeff Banyas (Medina); Jack Smith (Sandusky); Trent Stephens (Ravenna); Jon Henes (Lagrange); Moe Lilje (Vickery); Mike McVetta (Wellington)

Heat # 2 – Dave Shullick Jr. (N.Ridgeville); Kyle Edwards (Bartlett, Tn.); Charlie Schultz (Lorain); Bobby Dawson (S. Amherst); Matt Marlowe (Avon); A.J. Lesiecki (Lorain)

Feature (30 laps) – Shullick Jr.; Stephens; McVetta; Dawson; Marlowe; Lilje; Schultz; Lesiecki; Banyas; Henes; Smith; Edwards