selinsgrove speedway

By Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Sprint car racing will be the featured attraction at Selinsgrove Speedway two times this upcoming weekend, Saturday, July 7, and Sunday, July 8, beginning at 7:30 p.m. both nights.

Saturday night’s racing card, sponsored by Central Builders Supply Co., will feature the 358 sprint cars in a 25-lap main event paying $1,200 to win. Joining the 358 sprint cars will be the late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners.

Since 1928, Central Builders Supply Co., with locations in Berwick, Bloomsburg, Shamokin, Selinsgrove, Lewisburg, Watsontown, Hazleton, Northumberland, and Montandon, specializes in ready-mix concrete, concrete blocks, sand and gravel delivery, and hardscaping.

The speedway will swing back into action on Sunday evening with the Jan Opperman Memorial PA Speedweek finale for 410 sprint cars. Sunday night’s event will mark the second appearance of the season by the 410 sprint cars at the Snyder County half-mile oval. Time trials, heats, and a B-Main will be the format for qualifying for the 30-lap A-Main that will pay $5,000 to win.

Fred Rahmer of Salfordville has more Speedweek wins at Selinsgrove than any other driver, with victories in 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2005, and 2008. Other past Speedweek winners at Selinsgrove include Len Krautheim of Penns Creek (1992); Billy Pauch of Frenchtown, N.J. (1994, 1996); Todd Shaffer of Millerstown (2001); Greg Hodnett of York (2002, 2003, 2004, 2011); Doug Esh of Lancaster (2006); Sean Michael of Allentown (2007); Chad Kemenah of Findlay, Ohio (2009), and Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okla. (2010).

In Selinsgrove’s 50th consecutive season opener on March 11, Pittman won the 25-lap 410 sprint car race. The Keystone Cup race on May 27 was rained out (rain checks from the cancellation will be honored for Sunday’s race).

The super sportsman will compete in qualifying events and a 20-lap feature. Rich Eichelberger of York Springs and Bobby Hockenberry of Mechanicsburg won the super sportsman races at the track last year.

The 410 sprint cars are also scheduled to compete at Selinsgrove in the Jim Nace Memorial 30th Anniversary National Open on Saturday, Sept. 15.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present go karts and micro sprint cars at 7 p.m. this Friday, July 6. Nathan Ritter of Selinsgrove leads David Utt of Bloomsburg by 50 points in the chase for the Selinsgrove Ford 270 micro sprint car track championship. Each driver has two wins at the track this season.

There will be no racing at the speedway the weekend of July 13-14 for the summer break. Selinsgrove Speedway & Raceway Park will resume operation the weekend of July 20-21.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit selinsgrovespeedway.com or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999.

Admission Fees:
Saturday, July 7: Adults $10; Students (12-17) $8; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $20
Sunday, July 8: Adults $20; Students (12-17) $15; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $25