USAC Joins Forces with Arizona Traditional Sprint Cars

USAC United States Auto Club Southwest Sprint Car Series Logo tease

USAC United States Auto Club Southwest Sprint Car Series LogoFrom Kevin Montgomery


Peoria, AZ — (December 6, 2013) —  On the heels of a historical 2012, one of the oldest and strongest traditional Sprint Car groups in the southwest joins forces with the most notable open wheel sanctions in America to bring race fans an ensemble of traditional Sprint Car action.


After Charles Davis Jr. capped off a 2012 season and a top five finish at this years Western World Championships, he managed to find a moment to reflect on the season and his fifth Arizona Sprint Car driving championships. The 2012 title would also mark Jim Massey’s third as a car owner leading the Massey Motorsports team in a colossal year with several monumental wins including the Brawl for it All triumph which captured the essence of Arizona Sprint Car Racing.


Davis, who picked up six wins along the journey, topped a 2012 Southwest Sprint Car season that was highlighted by 105 total competitors, 15 full time traveling teams, thirteen different winners and some of the toughest competition in the country.


Ricky Johnson, who won the first Arizona Sprint Car Association Championship in 1991, was Arizona’s inaugural 360 Traditional Sprint Car Champion and went on to capture 5 more titles edging Jeremy Sherman and Charles Davis in total driving championships by only one.


Now 22 years later the Arizona Sprint Cars will continue the legacy as the Southwest Sprint Cars and will compete under the USAC banner joining the USAC West Coast Sprint Cars and The USAC-CRA Sprint Car Series marking the first time in history West Coast Sprint Car racing will compete collectively under the same banner.


The USAC Southwest Sprint Cars will kick off 2013 as they take on the West Coast Sprint Cars at the 2013 Winter Challenge and will crown the first champion at the 46th Annual USAC Western World Championships in November.


The 2013 Winter Challenge will feature top traditional Sprint Car drivers from around the country as the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars face off with the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series in the valley of the sun for what is anticipated to be one of the largest racing events of 2013. More than $100,000 in “A” Feature money alone will be distributed over the course of the blockbuster event that kicks off with the $2,000 to win Winter Challenge opener and will conclude with the $5,000 to win finale on February 2nd.