Stephens Wins MSA Opener at Sandusky

From Sandusky Speedway

Sandusky, OH — (May 18, 2013) — The Adkins Glass Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) Supermodifieds were the first feature of the evening at Sandusky Speedway. Matt Marlowe and Mike Lichty made up the front row with Lichty taking the early lead as Mike Ordway Jr. grabbed second. Charlie Schultz took second on lap one followed by Mike Ordway Jr., Trent Stephens and Moe Lilje. Lichty proceeded to open up nearly a half straightaway lead over Schultz as the field spread out around the half mile oval. At the halfway mark it was still Lichty in the lead. The first caution of the race came on lap seventeen when Jon Henes lost power. Henes would be out for the evening. On the single file restart it was Lichty, Schultz, Ordway, Stephens and Lilje the top five running order. Stephens advanced to third and the defending MSA champion gave chase to Schultz. With five laps to go Lilje got past Ordway Jr. Disaster struck on lap twenty eight when Lichty lost power on the front straight bringing out the caution flag. Lichty had a broken driveshaft and would not be able to continue. On the restart Ordway Jr. spun in the front straight for another caution. A green, white, checkered finish loomed when Will Patterson dropped the green flag for the restart with defending MSA champion Trent Stephens now leading. At the finish it was Trent Stephens taking the checkered flag driving for the Kasper Auto Group Steve Stout owned ACME Racing team.