From Selinsgrove Speedway

Selinsgrove, PA – Jason Shultz of Carlisle drove to his second win of the season in Saturday night’s 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway. The $1,500 victory was the 10th of Shultz’s career at the track driving the Martin’s Refrigeration/Mach 1 Chassis No. 2.

Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove avoided a nine-car pileup on the frontstretch at the start of the late model feature and went on to win his second race of the season and the 11th of his career at Selinsgrove in the division’s 25-lap main event.

Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove made a last-lap pass by Brad Mitch of McClure for his third win of the year in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while Bob Bussey of Northumberland drove to his second win of the season in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the Ray Tilley Classic for 410 sprint cars plus super sportsman and 305 sprint cars at 7 p.m. Sunday, May 26. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

The speedway will swing back into action at 7 p.m. Saturday, June 1, with the annual Roadrunner 20 plus 358 sprint cars, late models, and pro stocks. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

On the start of the sprint car feature, polesitter Scott Wilson rolled slowly down the frontstretch and withdrew from the race as seventh-place starter Colby Womer stormed into the early lead. The caution flag unfurled on lap two when Austin Reed’s car rolled to a stop. Womer set the pace on the restart with fourth-place starter Larry Kelleher and second-place starter Bryan Garland in pursuit.

On the fifth circuit, third-place starter Phil Walter raced back into the third spot. Meanwhile, 12th-place starter Jason Shultz began to show a lot of speed and raced into the top five along with 13th-place starter Pat Cannon. On a lap 11 restart, Shultz passed Kelleher for second and set his sights on Womer.

Shultz reeled in Womer and made the winning pass using the inside lane off turn four on lap 13. On the 18th circuit, Cannon advanced to second and attempted to catch Shultz. At the finish, Shultz was victorious by 1.5 seconds over Cannon, Womer, Walter, and 10th-place starter Josh Beard.

The nine-car pileup at the start of the late model feature sidelined point leader Jeff Rine along with a host of other drivers. For the restart, 11 of the original 18 cars took the green flag. Original eighth-place starter Dylan Yoder, who found himself restarting on the outside of the front row due to attrition, pulled into the lead and never looked back.

For the entire distance, Yoder was chased by original 10th-place starter Jim Bernheisel. Yoder maintained a comfortable lead while Bernheisel raced a distant second. Behind the leaders, a close battle for third unfolded between Jerry Bard and Donnie Schick.

Schick secured the third position on lap 18 and closed in on Bernheisel in a race for second. On several occasions Schick pulled alongside of Bernheisel to attempt a pass to no avail. At the finish, D. Yoder took the checkered flag by 3.5 seconds over Bernheisel, Schick, Bard, and Jim Yoder.

Polesitter Brad Mitch powered into the lead at the start of the pro stock feature and was pursued by sixth-place starter Kyle Bachman. The leaders were in a high-speed chase around the top of the race track until the final lap when Bachman made a last-ditch effort to pull off a pass using the inside line entering turn three.

Racing off turn four, Bachman’s car drifted high and crossed the line by half of a second ahead of Mitch’s for the win. Point leader Troy Miller, Shaun Miller, and Nathan Long completed the top five.

In the roadrunner feature, polesitter Jeremy Kline led the first lap until fourth-place starter Bob Bussey powered into the lead. Kline maintained the runner up position through the ninth circuit, when fifth-place starter Brian Johnson and sixth-place starter John Fowler Jr. dueled for the second spot.

Fowler took over second with three laps remaining but could not catch Bussey. Bussey was victorious over Fowler, Ricky Bender, Ray Rothfuss, and Kline.

358 Sprint Cars – 21 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 2 Jason Shultz 2) 3 Pat Cannon 3) 19 Colby Womer 4) 5 Phil Walter 5) 5B Josh Beard 6) 15 Mark Bittner 7) 76 Larry Kelleher 8) 23 TJ Stutts 9) 1W Eric Tomecek 10) 21 Duane Mausteller 11) 77 Derek Locke 12) 29 Matt Horst 13) 25 John Smith 14) 66 Ryan Kissinger 15) 22M Brian Garland 16) 15R Jay Reichard 17) 29S Derek Steward 18) 67 Jason Cherry 19) 38 Scott Wilson DNF 20) 34 Austin Reed DNF 21) 99K Cody Keller DNF
Heat Winners: Scott Wilson, Phil Walter, Colby Womer
Late Models – 18 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 24 Dylan Yoder 2) 119 Jim Bernheisel 3) 6 Donnie Schick 4) 26 Jerry Bard 5) 27 Jim Yoder 6) 16 Matt Cochran 7) 7M Meade Hahn 8) 88 Tony Adams 9) 10 Dave Stamm 10) 2C Adam Campbell 11) 91 Chad Davis DNF 12) 90 Kyle Rhoads DNF 13) 99Z Dave Zona 14) 61 Ken Trevitz DNF 15) 119B Bryan Bernheisel DNF 16) 92 Nate Romig DNF 17) 2J Jeff Rine DNF 18) 9 Hayes Mattern DNS
Heat Winners: Dave Zona, Meade Hahn
Pro Stocks – 16 Entries
15-Lap A-Main: 1) 99 Kyle Bachman 2) 10M Brad Mitch 3) 115 Troy Miller 4) 115S Shaun Miller 5) 63 Nathan Long 6) 85 Terry Lauver 7) 26S Nate Stroup 8) 19H Tommy Slanker 9) 85L Pete Lauver 10) 06 Frank Reisser 11) 28J Jeff Ceballo 12) 8M Brandon Moser 13) 4 Jim Payne DNF 14) Matt Wilson DNF 15) 74 Rob Baker DNS 16) 70J John Schreffler DNS
Heat Winners: Brad Mitch, Kyle Bachman
Roadrunners – 11 Entries
12-Lap A-Main: 1) 76 Bob Bussey 2) 02 John Fowler 3) 29B Ricky Bender 4) 22 Ray Rothfuss 5) 8K Jeremy Kline 6) 201 Brian Johnson 7) 99 Chris Hoffman 8) 7 Butch Shaffer 9) 31B Brandon Shultz 10) 28L Curtis Lawton DNF 11) 89 John Schoch DNF
Heat Winners: John Fowler, Brian Johnson