Dave Darland. - T.J. Buffenbarger Photo
Dave Darland. - T.J. Buffenbarger Photo
Dave Darland. – T.J. Buffenbarger Photo

From Dick Jordan

The nation’s Independence will be saluted Thursday and part of the salute will come in the form of AMSOIL USAC National Sprint racing at Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Ind.

The Sprint cars were scheduled at the 5/16-mile dirt oval in April but rains interrupted that event after the opening heat race.

Former series champion and USAC Triple Crown Champion Dave Darland holds down the number one point spot, with a 31-point margin over defending series titlist Bryan Clauson.

Darland’s victories this year at Bloomington, Ind. and Port Royal, Pa. were the 83rd and 84th of his USAC National career. He stands just two victories short of Tracy Hines among active USAC National drivers.

A victory Thursday would vault Darland to the top of the all-time USAC list at Lincoln Park. His five wins there include a win last year and he is tied with Sheldon Kinser for the all-time lead.

Clauson won the series opener at Ocala, Fla. and last year he won at Lincoln Park in the Midgets for the second consecutive year. He’s still seeking his initial Lincoln Park USAC Sprint win.

2013 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Point Standings: 1-Dave Darland-756; 2-Bryan Clauson-725; 3-Brady Bacon-715; 4-Kevin Thomas-704, 5-Chase Stockon-704; 6-Hunter Schuerenberg-670; 7-Tracy Hines-659; 8-Robert Ballou-633; 9-Shane Cottle-464; 10-Tyler Courtney-427.