Walker Takes Initial OCRS Triumph

Mickey Walker in victory lane. - Image courtesy of OCRS
Mickey Walker in victory lane. - Image courtesy of OCRS
Mickey Walker in victory lane. – Image courtesy of OCRS

From John Lemon


Colcord OK — (October 4, 2013) — In a night of multiple first’s for the traveling warriors of the Oil Capital Racing Series, Mickey Walker, a third generation driver from the Walker racing tree, notched his first OCRS A-Feature win in only his seventh OCRS start. In the same moment, Miss Harli White finished off what she set out to do earlier in the season and wrapped up the 2013 OCRS championship. White becomes the first female sprint car driver to achieve such a feat in any sanctioning series within the plains region.


After winning the AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories heat race earlier in the night, Walker started outside the second row of the main event in his Action Auto Collision / Sign & Stitches / Pops Custom Racing Engines  / Maxim machine and immediately settled into second spot at the drop of the green flag riding the coat tails of second year driver Michael Bookout who started outside front row in his Bigfoot Racing / Jet-Hot High Performance Coatings / Carter-Maxwell / Stewart Engines  / ART chassis.


Bookout was stout as he led the first eleven circuits of which Walker was all over his rear bumper for six of those laps before Walker finally made the pass he would savor on the twelfth lap. Shayla Waddell was hooked up on the ¼-mile track as she was sitting third the entire time the front runners were fighting for the lead in her Shores Sentry / Jaguar of OKC / PM Pro / Boyd Racing Engines / Eagle. Waddell would relinquish a position to another Eagle pilot in Johnny ‘Hotrod’ Kent on the 16th lap.


Kent would then maneuver the Care Family Medical / Wesmar Power Parts #55 past Bookout on lap 20 for the runner-up spot. While these battles were taking place, White and Danny Smith, the only other driver that could keep White from clinching the title  were both mired in the back of the pack out of the top ten and each were struggling to move forward. Ironically, the last time these two racers failed to finish in the top ten at the same time was in their last outing, which was at the Oklahoma Sports Park on September 14th. Mr. Smith, the Drive Shaft’s Inc. heat winner tried to separate from White, the Bob Hurley Auto Family heat victor, but it was to no avail even though Smith climbed into the tenth spot. White’s thirteenth place was just enough to lock the title with one race on the schedule remaining.


“This is a dream come true,” said the new champion. “At the beginning of the year, we really didn’t expect to come out as good as we did, but after the first two wins (White won the first two races on the schedule), we thought we would go for the championship. I have been really blessed with my dad (Charlie) setting up the car really perfect for the whole season. I have to thank my sponsors: Jerry Tucker / Terraco Soil Farming / Crash Enterprises / All Star Cafe and Boyd Engines. I also have to thank my angel, Donnie Ray Crawford.”


Back up front, while Walker was working on his own piece of OCRS glory, Bookout was getting all he wanted from Waddell and the ‘Princess” took a spot from Bookout to move into a podium position. Walker snapped the finish line tape first with Kent in tow followed by: Waddell, Bookout (who had his best career OCRS finish), and Kade Morton in one of the Morton Excavating / STK Racing Engines / XXX chassis sprinters. Sixth through tenth were: four-time OCRS champion Jamie Passmore, Michael Tyre, Kyle Clark, Derek Cottrell and Smith.


“I have to give credit to my dad (Kenneth) for setting up the car, he did an amazing job,” echoed a happy Walker. “He has told me what to do and how to do it and for all he had taught me in the past years, all I need to do is drive. I want to live up to be as good as my dad and my grandpa (Terry).”


Walker becomes the 14th different winner on the OCRS circuit this season and is also the 10th first time winner in OCRS action this season alone. The customary AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories “Hard Charger” award went to Alex Sewell while Dan Schackenburg was the recipient of the Dyno Services of Oklahoma hard luck award.


The OCRS vagabonds will make their final 2013 appearance Saturday night, October 5th, at the Outlaw Motorsports Park in Oktaha Oklahoma. Will there be a 15th different victor to grace OCRS victory lane? Will that winner also be the 11th first time OCRS trophy collector? One thing is for certain, the last race of the year typically means that drivers will let it “all hang out” before storing their precious racecars away for the winter. We look forward to seeing you there!


Racing at the Outlaw Motorsports Park begins at 7pm Saturday night with hot laps starting at 6:30pm.  OCRS drivers meeting is at 6pm. For more information on the Outlaw Motorsports Park, visit www.outlawmotorsportspark.com or call the track at: 918.687.7077.


 For more information on the OCRS sprint car series including updates, stories, photos, complete 2013 point standings and future schedules, log onto: www.ocrsracing.com


You can also checkout our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/oil.series


OCRS Race Results

West Siloam Speedway / Colcord, Oklahima

Date of Race:  Friday, October 4, 2013

Car Count: 26




AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Heat

1, 2-Mickey Walker[3]. 2, 4J-Jamie Passmore[4]. 3, 9$-Kyle Clark[1]. 4, 00-Kacee Frazier[2]. 5, 31-Casey Wills[5]. 6, 18-Rob Hooper[80]. (DNS). 7, 8-Alex Sewell[80]. (DNS).


Bob Hurley Auto Family Heat

1, 17W-Harli White[1]. 2, 007-Michael Bookout[3]. 3, 8x-Shane Pace[6]. 4, 9-Derek Cottrell[2]. 5, 7m-Chance Morton[5]. 6, 4Z-Zach Alley[7]. 7, 8J-James Fabian[4].


Drive Shafts Inc. Heat

1, 5$-Danny Smith[2]. 2, 88S-Shayla Waddell[3]. 3, 11-Michael Tyre[1]. 4, 23A-Travis Ashwood[4]. 5, 3-Brian Gramm[5]. 6, 13-Len Larkin[80]. (DNS).


Car and Fleet Parts Heat

1, 55-Johnny Kent[3]. 2, 84-Alex DeCamp[5]. 3, 8M-Kade Morton[4]. 4, 94-Dan Schnackenberg[1]. 5, 78-Frank Dittman[2]. 6, 4K-Kirby Bedford[80].


Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature

1, 9-Derek Cottrell[8]. 2, 00-Kacee Frazier[10]. 3, 31-Casey Wills[11]. 4, 23A-Travis Ashwood[6]. 5, 8-Alex Sewell[12]. 6, 7m-Chance Morton[9]. 7, 4Z-Zach Alley[13]. 8, 78-Frank Dittman[14]. 9, 3-Brian Gramm[3]. 10, 94-Dan Schnackenberg[7]. 11, 18-Rob Hooper[2]. 12, 13-Len Larkin[5]. (DNS). 13, 8J-James Fabian[4]. (DNS). 14, 4K-Kirby Bedford[1]. (DNS).


OCRS A Feature

1, 2-Mickey Walker[4]. 2, 55-Johnny Kent[7]. 3, 88S-Shayla Waddell[6]. 4, 007-Michael Bookout[2]. 5, 8M-Kade Morton[8]. 6, 4J-Jamie Passmore[9]. 7,11-Michael Tyre[3]. 8, 9$-Kyle Clark[5]. 9, 9-Derek Cottrell[13]. 10, 5$-Danny Smith[11]. 11, 8-Alex Sewell[17]. 12, 8x-Shane Pace[1]. 13, 17W-Harli White[12]. 14, 31-Casey Wills[15]. 15, 7m-Chance Morton[18]. 16, 00-Kacee Frazier[14]. 17, 23A-Travis Ashwood[16]. 18, 84-Alex DeCamp[10]. 19, 78-Frank Dittman[20]. 20, 4Z-Zach Alley[19].



AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories Hard Charger: Alex Sewell +6

Dyno Services Of Oklahoma Hard Luck Award: Dan Schnackenburg