Sneeringer Wins at Trail-Way

From Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA — (August 1, 2014) — Hanover’s Isaac Sneeringer used lapped traffic to perfection in claiming his third win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“It was the lapped traffic that won me the race,” said Sneeringer upon exiting his DCI Racing/Todd A. Gosnell Paving #19Z in victory lane, “I saw Brad on the inside of turn four and knew I had to go to the top in turn one and two. I had to drive around the lapped cars or take it out of the park.”

Sneeringer started on the pole and led every lap, but withstood serious challenges from points leader Brad McClelland, who started 11th and took the runner-up spot from outside front row starter Dwight Leppo in turn two of lap 11.

McClelland closed quickly on the leader, and the two raced wheel-to-wheel as they entered lapped traffic on lap 15. On lap 17, McClelland drove to the low side in turn four and attempted to make the pass with the lapped cars of Wyatt Hinkle and Cody Fairchok in between. The four cars raced in a pack as they crossed under the flagstand, and Sneeringer took to the top to get around the two lapped cars in turns one and two.

McClelland lost momentum trying to drive under Hinkle and Fairchok, and lost several carlengths.

A spinning Danny Massey on lap 24 set up a dramatic one-lap shootout at the end, but Sneeringer had enough to score his third Trail-Way win of the year.

“It’s always a good win when the 6R is in the field,” said Sneeringer.

Leppo, rookie Tyler Buchenauer, and Seth Kearchner completed the top five.

Heats for the 17 “358” sprinters were won by Leppo, Sneeringer, and Cody Fletcher.

358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland(Hard Charger); 3. 4-Dwight Leppo; 4. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 5. 30-Seth Kearchner; 6. 64-Randy Whisler; 7. 10-Zach Euculano; 8. 16-Matt Campbell; 9. 00S-Shane Smith; 10. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 11. 83-Cody Fairchok; 12. 54-Dan Massey(DNF); 13. 66A-Cody Fletcher(DNF); 14. 2-Dennis Gross(DNF); DNS: 9-Dalton Dietrich; 55-Robbie Kendall; 21-Scott Fisher. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Isaac Sneeringer (1-25).

Heat 1 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 00-Shane Smith; 3. 54-Dan Massey; 4. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF); 5. 9-Dalton Dietrich(DNF); 6. 21-Scott Fisher(DNF). No Time.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 2. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer; 3. 6R-Brad McClelland; 4. 30-Seth Kearchner (DNF); 5. 55-Robert Kendall (DNF); 6. 83-Cody Fairchok (DNF). Time 2:23.60.

Heat 3 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 2. 16-Matt Campbell; 3. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 4. 2-Dennis Gross; 5. 64-Randy Whisler(DNF). No Time.