Zomer Zooms to victory lane ASCS Southwest region

Dusty Zomer (Serena Dalhamer photo)
Dusty Zomer (Serena Dalhamer photo)
Dusty Zomer (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Lonnie Wheatley

Peoria, AZ — (March 14, 2015) — South Dakota’s Dusty Zomer dropped in on Saturday night’s Canyon Speedway Park season opener and made it pay off with victory honors in ASCS Southwest Sprint Car action atop the 1/3-mile clay oval near Phoenix.

While Zomer bested the Sprint Car ranks, other winners on the night included Bo Partain in IMCA Modifieds, Chris McCurdy, Jr., in Pure Stocks, Daniel Romero in Renegades and Brian Stehr in Dwarf Cars.

After a third place heat race finish, Zomer redrew the pole position for the feature and raced to victory lane aboard the Buffalo Wild Wings No. 82 ahead of reigning ASCS Southwest champion Rick Ziehl with 13th-starter Lorne Wofford, Bob Ream, Jr., and Ryan Linder rounding out the top five.

Canyon Speedway Park

Season Opener Results:

ASCS Southwest Sprint Cars:

First Heat: 1. 51-Cody Cambensy, 2. 91-Casey Buckman, 3. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 4. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 5. 12-James Mosher, 6. 29-Darrell Sickles.

Second Heat: 1. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 2. 41-Joshua Williams, 3. 82-Dusty Zomer, 4. 18-Lorne Wofford, 5. 22x-Jesse Baker, 6. 01-Kaylene Verville.

Third Heat: 1. 7-James Aragon, 2. 9-Ryan Linder, 3. 2-Alex Pettas, 4. 90-Lance Norick, 5. 4c-Billy Chester.

“A” Feature: 1. 82-Dusty Zomer, 2. 20z-Rick Ziehl, 3. 18-Lorne Wofford, 4. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 5. 9-Ryan Linder, 6. 41-Joshua Williams, 7. 51-Cody Cambensy, 8. 01-Kaylene Verville, 9. 91-Casey Buckman, 10. 7-James Aragon, 11. 2-Alex Pettas, 12. 12-James Mosher, 13. 22x-Jesse Baker, 14. 29-Darrell Sickles, 15. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 16. 90-Lance Norick, 17. 4c-Billy Chester.