Selinsgrove Speedway Mach 1 Chassis $10,000-To-Win 360 Sprint Car Open June 20

2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo
By Steve Inch
SELINSGROVE, Pa. – The 15th Annual Mach 1 Chassis National Open for 360 sprint cars will pay $10,000 to win for the second year a row Saturday, June 20, at Selinsgrove Speedway. The race will be sanctioned with the United Racing Club 360 sprint car contingent. 

The purse for this year’s 360 sprint car Open will exceed $35,000, one of the largest of any 360 sprint car race in the United States, with $5,000 being posted to finish second, $1,000 for a 10th-place finish, and $500 just to start the race. 

A new qualifying format will be utilized for this year’s race, including one round of sprint car heat races that will award passing points to determine the starting lineup for the A-main. 

Track gates will open at 5 p.m., with racing slated to begin at 7 p.m. The pro stocks will also be on the racing card. 

The rain date, if needed, will be Sunday, June 21, at 7 p.m. 
In 358-360 sprint car Open history at Selinsgrove Speedway, 14 races have produced nine different winners since 2001. 

TJ Stutts of Liverpool won the inaugural race in 2001 and scored victories in 2003 and 2013. In Pat Cannon of Etters, however, was the first three-time winner of the 358-360 sprint car Open in 2012. Cannon’s other  victories were in 2007 and 2008.

Logan Schuchart of Hanover drove to an impressive victory in the 2011 race. In 2010, Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okla., was awarded the win when Cannon’s race car was under the legal weight during the post-race inspection.

Heimbach won the 2005 Open and the rain-postponed 2009 edition of the Open that was run in the spring of 2010. Adrian Shaffer of Hallam was the Open champion in 2002, while Nate Snyder of Halifax took the victory in the 2004 race. Phil Walter of McClure took home the trophy in 2006.

In last year’s Open, Aaron Ott of East Berlin scored the victory in the track’s first-ever $10,000-to-win race for 358-360 sprint cars. 

In 360 sprint car racing at the speedway this season, defending track champion Mark Smith of Sunbury has four wins and leads the Mach 1 Chassis points standings over defending United Racing Club champion and one-time Selinsgrove winner this year Davie Franek of Wantage, N.J. Eric Tomacek of Abbottstown returned to sprint car racing this season and is also a winner at the track. 

Race sponsor Mach 1 Chassis, located at 10 North Frederick Street in Mechanicsburg, engineers and builds race car chassis that are known for safety, strength, durability, and performance. In addition to chassis fabrication and repair, Mach 1 Chassis also manufactures front and rear bumpers, nerf bars, front axles, wing posts, and wing trees. 

There’s also the Mach 1 Speed Shop offering a full line of race car parts and service at the Mechanicsburg shop. For more information about the company, visit 

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999. 2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo

Purse for Mach 1 Chassis 358-360 Sprint Car National Open (6/20/15): 1) $10,000 2) $5,000 3) $3,000 4) $2,000 5) $1,500 6) $1,400 7) $1,300 8) $1,200 9) $1,100 10) $1,000 11) $700 12) $650 13) $600 14) $550 15-25) $500
Admission for 6/20/15: Adults $25; Students (12-17) $10; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $35