Kent was not to be denied at Flint Creek Speedway

Top Story OCRS Oil Capital Racing Series

By John Rittenoure

West Siloam Springs, Okla. (September 4, 2015) – No one was more ready for an Ameri-Flex Hose and Accessories / Oil Capital Racing Series victory on Friday night at Flint Creek Speedway than Johnny Kent.

Just look back at the 2014 season. Kent remembers only too well several potential wins that got snatched away in the closing laps. Mechanical problems and blown engines also plagued him.

Friday Kent found himself leading the 30-lap feature late in the race and this time he was not to be denied finally winning his first Ameri-Flex / OCRS main event.

“We have had at least five second place finishes last year,” Kent recalled of his past luck. “At least two of them should have been wins that we did not capitalize on in the last couple of laps. It definitely has been a long time coming. We have been on the receiving end quite a few times.

“We have won a ton at Creek (Creek County Speedway) and Meeker (Brill’s Motor Speedway in Meeker OK.) but have not been able to put an OCRS win together. It is nice to get that monkey off our back.”

With all that has happened, Kent could not help but remember his past experiences when he realized he was on the verge of a victory.

“I was not looking back but it does cross your mind,” he said. “You start counting laps.”

For a change, bad luck pounced on the early leaders allowing Kent to come out of a restart with the lead and only 10 laps remaining.

“We were running in fourth. (Robert) Sellers was out front at the time with Whit (Gastineau) second and (David) Stephenson was third,” explained Kent. “Stephenson got into the cushion, hit the wall and turned over. While we were sitting on the red, Whit and Sellers had a right rear tire go down and I inherited the lead with ten to go.”

“It seemed like it was another 30 to be honest.”

When the checkered waved, Kent had the victory with points runner-up Shane Sellers crossing the line in second. Zach Chappell, Brent Bates and Robert Sellers rounded out the top five.

AmeriFlex / Oil Capital Racing Series

Flint Creek Speedway – West Siloam Springs, Okla.
Friday, September 4, 2015

Car count: 16


Boyd Racing Engines Heat  (8 laps) – 1, 53-Brett Wilson[6]. 2, 16-Nigel Calvert[5]. 3, 22-David Stephenson[4]. 4, 88S-Shayla Waddell[3]. 5, 30-Joseph Miller[1]. 6, 007-Michael Bookout[2].

Shock Doc Heat  (8 laps) – 1, 17-Brent Bates[2]. 2, 2W-Whit Gastineau[3]. 3, 55-Johnny Kent[4]. 4, 87F-Brian McClelland[1]. 5, 31-Casey Wills[5].

Drive Shafts Inc. Heat  (8 laps) – 1, 4-Shane Sellers[1]. 2, 4X-Robert Sellers[2]. 3, 69-Glen Passmore[4]. 4, 50Z-Zach Chappell[3]. 5, 5-Cameron Hagin[5].

Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories A Feature 30 laps) – 1, 55-Johnny Kent[8]. 2, 4-Shane Sellers[4]. 3, 50Z-Zach Chappell[12]. 4, 17-Brent Bates[2]. 5, 4X-Robert Sellers[6]. 6, 16-Nigel Calvert[3]. 7, 69-Glen Passmore[9]. 8, 31-Casey Wills[14]. 9, 88S-Shayla Waddell[10]. 10, 5-Cameron Hagin[15]. 11, 007-Michael Bookout[16]. 12, 22-David Stephenson[7]. 13, 2W-Whit Gastineau[5]. 14, 53-Brett Wilson[1]. 15, 30-Joseph Miller[13]. 16, 87F-Brian McClelland[11].

Contingency Award Winners:

Boyd’s Racing Engines Heat: Brett Wilson
Shock Doc Heat: Brent Bates
Drive Shafts, Inc. Heat: Shane Sellers
D&E Hard Luck Recipient: Michael Bookout
Action Auto Collision Hard Charger Recipient: Zach Chappell (+9)
Wesmar Power Parts Recipient: Michael Bookout
M&W Aluminum Products Recipient: David Stephenson
Lightning Wings Recipient: Cameron HaginTop Story OCRS Oil Capital Racing Series
Rod End Supply Recipients: Robert Sellers, Shayla Waddell, Joseph Miller
Maxim Racing Recipient: Glen Passmore
Amsoil Recipient: Nigel Calvert
Dyno Services of Oklahoma Recipient: Robert Sellers