Reutzel Masters Night One At Jackson with ASCS/SOS and Gulf South

Aaron Reutzel ASCS photo

By Bryan Hulbert

Aaron Reutzel ASCS photo
Aaron Reutzel
ASCS photo
BYRAM, Miss. (April 8, 2016) Parking the Dissolvalloy No. 87 in Victory Lane for the second time in as many races, Aaron Reutzel topped the $2,000 to win opening night of the “King of the Wings” at Mississippi’s Jackson Motor Speedway with the Lucas Oil ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints and Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region.

Becoming the 12th different winner with the ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints, the win also counts as Aaron’s 16th overall with the ASCS Gulf South Region.
Coming to victory from the fifth starting spot, Aaron was chased to the line by Channin Tankersley who came from eighth. John Carney II crossed third with Andy McElhannon and Tommy Bryant completing the top-five.
From 14th, Ray Allen Kulhanek climbed to sixth with Tim Crawley following from 13th. Anthony Nicholson also climbed through the field from 16th to grab eight with Travis Rilat and Shane Morgan rounding out the top-ten.
Both divisions of the American Sprint Car Series conclude their showdown at the Jackson Motor Speedway on Saturday, April 9. For more information on the Jackson Motor Speedway, log onto
For continued updates on the Lucas Oil ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints and Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Regions, log onto

Race Results:
ASCS Gulf South Region
ASCS Southern Outlaw Sprints
Jackson Motor Speedway – Byram, Miss.
Friday, April 8, 2016
Car Count: 35

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 14-Channin Tankersley; 2. 42-Andy McElhannon; 3. 01-Shane Morgan; 4. 29-Kyle Amerson; 5. 48-Cody Stacy; 6. 99-Ray Stevison; 7. (DNF) 23B-Brian Bell

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 29T-Travis Rilat; 2. 57-Jacob Lucas; 3. 15T-Michael McNeil; 4. 17G-Dustin Gates; 5. 09-Timmy Thrash; 6. 29S-Rusty Stanford; 7. (DNF) 1-Randy Allen
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 4M-Michael Miller; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 3. 36-John Pate; 4. 21-Butch David; 5. 38-Ryan Moore; 6. 10P-Jim Perricone; 7. 1S-Joey Schmidt
Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 9JR-Derek Hagar; 2. 88-Scottie McDonald; 3. 88T-Tim Crawley; 4. 16-Anthony Nicholson; 5. 28-Jeff Willingham; 6. 88X-Brandon Blenden; 7. (DNF) 02-Harry Yerrington
Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 4J-John Carney II; 2. 28C-Tommy Bryant; 3. 66-J.J. Simmons; 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 5. 00-Tristan Lee; 6. (DNF) 76-Zane Lawrence; 7. (DNF) 26-Marshall Skinner
B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 23B-Brian Bell[9]; 2. 36-John Pate[1]; 3. 21-Butch David[4]; 4. 17G-Dustin Gates[2]; 5. 28-Jeff Willingham[3]; 6. 38-Ryan Moore[6]; 7. 10P-Jim Perricone[7]; 8. 48-Cody Stacy[5]; 9. 02-Harry Yerrington[11]; 10. (DNF) 29S-Rusty Stanford[8]; DNS 1-Randy Allen
B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 16-Anthony Nicholson[2]; 2. 66-J.J. Simmons[1]; 3. 29-Kyle Amerson[3]; 4. 09-Timmy Thrash[5]; 5. 76-Zane Lawrence[8]; 6. 1S-Joey Schmidt[10]; 7. 00-Tristan Lee[6]; 8. (DNF) 99-Ray Stevison[7]; 9. (DNF) 26-Marshall Skinner[9]; 10. (DNF) 88X-Brandon Blenden[4]
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel[5]; 2. 14-Channin Tankersley[8]; 3. 4J-John Carney II[3]; 4. 42-Andy McElhannon[7]; 5. 28C-Tommy Bryant[2]; 6. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[14]; 7. 88T-Tim Crawley[13]; 8. 16-Anthony Nicholson[16]; 9. 29T-Travis Rilat[9]; 10. 01-Shane Morgan[12]; 11. 57-Jacob Lucas[6]; 12. 15T-Michael McNeil[1]; 13. 66-J.J. Simmons[18]; 14. 36-John Pate[17]; 15. 29-Kyle Amerson[20]; 16. 21-Butch David[19]; 17. 4M-Michael Miller[4]; 18. 9JR-Derek Hagar[10]; 19. 88-Scottie McDonald[11]; 20. 23B-Brian Bell[15]