Brent Crews Wins POWRi Feature at Pevely

Brent Crews with the CB Industries team in victory lane Friday at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55. (Mark Funderburk photo)

From POWRi

PEVELY, MO (August 6, 2021) — The Denver, North Carolina Native Brent Crews steals a spectacular win on night No. one at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 with the Lucas Oil POWRi National & West Midget Leagues. Crews claimed his second career, and Lucas Oil POWRi Midget victory of the 2021 season. Crews carries great momentum into tomorrow night’s event back at the raceway.

Ryan Timms and Rico Abreu set the pace on the front row for the 30-lap main event. At the drop of the green flag, Timms got off to an early lead but fourth place starter, Crews was on his tail. Timms, Abreu, and Crews all fought for positions on the top side, while Crews took over the lead on lap three. Abreu and Timms both tried to claim second but Timms prevailed.

Eleven laps in the books and Crews began to hit lapped traffic. Slower cars in front of the leader caused Timms to reel him in, and try to take over the top spot. He threw a slide job and found himself in the lead on lap 18. Behind Timms, Abreu running in the third position got into the wall and came to a slow at the top turn two which brought out the yellow.

The 26 car field stacked back up for a single file restart with twelve laps to go, Timms still with the lead, and Crews on his tail in second, and Bryant Wiedeman following along in third. The green flag waved once again and Crews perfected the restart to get the lead back from teammate, Ryan Timms. Both CBIndustries cars traded slide jobs for the lead and caught themselves in an intense battle for the lead.

At the drop of the white flag, Timms caught the wall in turn two and found himself upside down running in the second position. Crews led the field to a green, white, checkered and captured his second win of the season behind the wheel of the No. 86 CBIndustries entry. Bryant Wiedeman finished second, Jake Neuman finished third, Zach Daum finished fourth, and Emilio Hoover rounded out the top five.

Lucas Oil POWRi West Member, Shannon McQueen ends night one of two at Federated Auto Parts Raceway on a high note. McQueen earned Advanced Racing Suspensions Heat Race Win No. 1 and brought home a sixth place finish after the 30-lap main event. Emilio Hoover, the POWRi West season points leader, found himself finishing in the fifth position after starting eighth.

“It was wild, I felt really good and I think we had a race winning car, and we brought it home. I had never heard of this place until this week and I heard Larson was fast here so I decided it was a good track for me.” – Brent Crews

“When they started getting racey, I thought I would have a chance there. This Yurff Dog car has been on rails lately. I am still looking to click off that first win. We have really been consistent lately but we are still chasing that.” -Bryant Wiedeman

“The crew had this car pretty quick and I can’t thank anyone enough. I think the sprint car helped a little bit tonight.”

POWRi National Midget League
Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
Pevely, Missouri
Friday, August 6, 2021

Advanced Racing Suspensions Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 7-Shannon McQueen[2]
2. 86-Brent Crews[4]
3. 01-Bryant Wiedeman[3]
4. 21-Emilio Hoover[6]
5. 00-Trey Gropp[5]
6. 21K-Karter Sarff[7]
7. 26-Chance Crum[9]
8. 71-Kaylee Bryson[8]
9. 70-Cade Cowles[1]

MVT Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 85T-Ryan Timms[6]
2. 17-Tanner Berryhill[2]
3. 08-Zach Daum[1]
4. 3N-Jake Neuman[4]
5. 72-Sam Johnson[3]
6. 77W-Joey Wirth[9]
7. 50-Daniel Adler[5]
8. 5F-Danny Frye[8]
9. 91-Lance Bennett[7]

Auto Meter Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 5-Rico Abreu[4]
2. 7X-Michelle Decker[1]
3. 44-Branigan Roark[2]
4. 67K-Cade Lewis[8]
5. 17B-Austin Barnhill[6]
6. 444-Kameron Key[7]
7. 97X-Matt Sherrell[3]
8. 2H-Luke Howard[5]

Lucas Oil A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 86-Brent Crews[4]
2. 01-Bryant Wiedeman[9]
3. 3N-Jake Neuman[13]
4. 08-Zach Daum[11]
5. 21-Emilio Hoover[8]
6. 7-Shannon McQueen[3]
7. 26-Chance Crum[19]
8. 67K-Cade Lewis[5]
9. 72-Sam Johnson[18]
10. 21K-Karter Sarff[16]
11. 00-Trey Gropp[15]
12. 7X-Michelle Decker[7]
13. 444-Kameron Key[17]
14. 2H-Luke Howard[24]
15. 50-Daniel Adler[20]
16. 71-Kaylee Bryson[22]
17. 44-Branigan Roark[10]
18. 77W-Joey Wirth[12]
19. 85T-Ryan Timms[1]
20. 17-Tanner Berryhill[6]
21. 97X-Matt Sherrell[21]
22. 5F-Danny Frye[23]
23. 5-Rico Abreu[2]
24. 70-Cade Cowles[26]
25. 91-Lance Bennett[25]
26. 17B-Austin Barnhill[14]