Larson Scores Second Career Front Row Challenge Victory

Kyle Larson. (Paul Arch photo)

From Bill Wright

OSKALOOSA, Iowa (August 9, 2021) — Kyle Larson won his second career Front Row Challenge title with a thrilling drive on Monday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway. The win, aboard Paul Silva’s #57, was worth $21,000 for the Elk Grove, California native.

A win in the Keith Hutton Memorial DeBerg Concrete King of the Hill Match Race set Brian Brown up on the pole of the 30-lap main event. Brown led Daryn Pittman, Kasey Kahne, Larson and Carson Macedo in the early going.

The leaders entered lapped traffic on the seventh circuit, and Larson worked his way under Kahne for the second spot on lap ten. Kahne battled back and briefly took the spot back on lap 13, but Larson pulled away and then stayed close as a blanket could be thrown over the lead trio of Brown, Pittman and Larson in traffic.

On lap 15, Larson shot around Pittman in turn two to take second and then rode the cushion around Brown to take the lead. Kahne shot by Pittman on lap 16 for third. A caution flew 18 laps in when Cale Thomas came to a stop.

On the ensuing restart, Larson kept his lead while back in the pack, Macedo gained fourth. Anthony Macri joined the top five with eight laps to go, and two circuits later, the final caution flew for a stopped Riley Goodno.

Brown went for broke on the restart and put a slidejob on Larson. He gained the lead in turn one, but Larson regained it with his momentum down the backstretch. He pulled away to another popular win (his first FRC title was in 2018).

Brown, Macedo, Macri and Kahne followed. Pittman, Shane Stewart, Gio Scelzi, Brock Zearfoss and Shane Golobic rounded out the top ten. Several drivers enjoyed contingencies (full list below). Scelzi set quick time, while Zearfoss, Tim Kaeding and John Carney II won heat races.

In the 15-lap $1,000 to win Badger Steel IMCA Racesaver feature, Monty Ferriera led Colin Smith and Jacob Hughes early. Hughes drove under Smith for second shortly thereafter. On lap seven, Jack Potter came to a stop setting up a restart.

The leaders stayed unchanged through a caution for a stopped Nate Weiler on lap nine. Two laps later, disaster struck the leader, as Ferriera came to a rest with four laps to go.

Hughes inherited the point, but Smith jumped him on the restart and sailed to victory over Mike Moore, who nabbed second with two to go, Hughes, Marcus Thomas and Jake Greenwood. Jack Potter, Katlyn Boland, Steve Hurst, Cam Martin and Ferriera completed the top ten.

Front Row Challenge
Southern Iowa Speedway
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Monday, August 9, 2021

Winged 410 sprint Cars

Sea Foam Qualifying
1. 18-Giovanni Scelzi, 15.392[7]
2. 41-Carson Macedo, 15.471[14]
3. 57-Kyle Larson, 15.517[1]
4. 21-Brian Brown, 15.530[11]
5. 71-Shane Stewart, 15.551[9]
6. 39-Daryn Pittman, 15.553[22]
7. 83-Kasey Kahne, 15.637[5]
8. 39M-Anthony Macri, 15.677[18]
9. 11-Spencer Bayston, 15.681[8]
10. 17A-Austin McCarl, 15.704[4]
11. 19-Brent Marks, 15.721[21]
12. 101-Cale Thomas, 15.766[16]
13. 17W-Shane Golobic, 15.803[17]
14. 25-Scott Bogucki, 15.815[24]
15. 7-John Carney II, 15.853[3]
16. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss, 15.854[19]
17. 11TK-Tim Kaeding, 15.876[20]
18. 07-Skylar Gee, 15.934[13]
19. 3-Ayrton Gennetten, 15.934[23]
20. N47-Marcus Dumesny, 15.960[2]
21. 70-Sammy Swindell, 15.971[10]
22. 2K-Kevin Ingle, 16.039[12]
23. 22-Riley Goodno, 16.091[6]
24. 44-Chris Martin, 16.102[15]
25. 53-Jessie Attard, 16.103[25]

Rayce Rudeen/HRP Heat Races ($1,000 in cash and prizes to win)

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[1]
2. 17W-Shane Golobic[2]
3. 83-Kasey Kahne[4]
4. 21-Brian Brown[5]
5. 17A-Austin McCarl[3]
6. 18-Giovanni Scelzi[6]
7. 2K-Kevin Ingle[8]
8. 53-Jessie Attard[9]
DNS: 3-Ayrton Gennetten

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 11TK-Tim Kaeding[1]
2. 25-Scott Bogucki[2]
3. 39M-Anthony Macri[4]
4. 19-Brent Marks[3]
5. 71-Shane Stewart[5]
6. 41-Carson Macedo[6]
7. N47-Marcus Dumesny[7]
8. 22-Riley Goodno[8]

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 7-John Carney II[2]
2. 07-Skylar Gee[1]
3. 11-Spencer Bayston[4]
4. 39-Daryn Pittman[5]
5. 57-Kyle Larson[6]
6. 101-Cale Thomas[3]
7. 70-Sammy Swindell[7]
8. 44-Chris Martin[8]

DeBerg Concrete $1,000 Keith Hutton Memorial “King of the Hill

King of the Hill Round #1 (2 Laps)
1. 57-Kyle Larson[2]
2. 83-Kasey Kahne[3]
3. 18-Giovanni Scelzi[1]
4. 71-Shane Stewart[4]

King of the Hill Round #2 (2 Laps)
1. 21-Brian Brown[1]
2. 39-Daryn Pittman[3]
3. 41-Carson Macedo[2]
4. 39M-Anthony Macri[4]

King of the Hill Final (2 Laps)
1. 21-Brian Brown[2]
2. 83-Kasey Kahne[3]
3. 39-Daryn Pittman[4]
4. 57-Kyle Larson[1]

A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 57-Kyle Larson[4]
2. 21-Brian Brown[1]
3. 41-Carson Macedo[6]
4. 39M-Anthony Macri[8]
5. 83-Kasey Kahne[2]
6. 39-Daryn Pittman[3]
7. 71-Shane Stewart[7]
8. 18-Giovanni Scelzi[5]
9. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss[15]
10. 17W-Shane Golobic[10]
11. 11TK-Tim Kaeding[16]
12. 19-Brent Marks[12]
13. 17A-Austin McCarl[14]
14. 7-John Carney II[11]
15. N47-Marcus Dumesny[19]
16. 44-Chris Martin[23]
17. 11-Spencer Bayston[9]
18. 22-Riley Goodno[22]
19. 70-Sammy Swindell[20]
20. 101-Cale Thomas[17]
21. 25-Scott Bogucki[13]
22. 07-Skylar Gee[18]
23. 53-Jessie Attard[24]
24. 2K-Kevin Ingle[21]
DNS: 3-Ayrton Gennetten

KSE Steering Pump/ $500 Jack Housby Hard-charger: Martin.
March Stuchel Snap-On Mechanic of the Race: Paul Silva.
$1,200 Wilwood Hard Luck Award: Gennetten
$500 Hoseheads Highest Finishing PA Posse: Macri
Two Hoosier Tires from Premier Speedway for Highest Finishing Aussie: Dumesny
Hoosier Tires from Knoxville Raceway: Brown, A. McCarl, Martin
Other Contingencies: Schoenfeld Headers, HRP, BMRS

Winged 305 Sprint Cars

Heat Race #1 (6 Laps)
1. 05-Colin Smith[1]
2. 43-Jacob Greenwood[2]
3. 4W-Nate Weiler[4]
4. 69-Mike Moore[6]
5. 15-Jack Potter[7]
6. 12P-Ryan Navratil[3]
7. 15K-Kaitlyn Boland[5]

Heat Race #2 (6 Laps)
1. 45X-Monty Ferriera[2]
2. 8-Jacob Hughes[5]
3. 4-Cam Martin[7]
4. 10G-Marcus Thomas[3]
5. 45-Steve Hurst[6]
6. 53-Joe Miller[1]
DNS: 4L-Mike Houseman Jr

A-Main (15 Laps)
1. 05-Colin Smith[3]
2. 69-Mike Moore[7]
3. 8-Jacob Hughes[1]
4. 10G-Marcus Thomas[9]
5. 43-Jacob Greenwood[4]
6. 15-Jack Potter[8]
7. 15K-Kaitlyn Boland[13]
8. 45-Steve Hurst[10]
9. 45X-Monty Ferriera[2]
10. 4-Cam Martin[6]
11. 4W-Nate Weiler[5]
12. 4L-Mike Houseman Jr[14]
DNS: 53-Joe Miller
DNS: 12P-Ryan Navratil