Thiel Wins IRA Feature at Beaver Dam

Scotty Thiel (Serena Dalhamer photo)

BEAVER DAM, WI (September 18, 2021) Wilmot, Wis., Saturday, September 18, 2021)–The final night of the 2021 Wilmot Raceway season saw three new feature winners for the year.
Sheboygan’s Scotty Thiel scored the victory in the 30-lap Bumper to Bumper Interstates Racing Association (IRA), his initial Wilmot win of the season and first at the original home track of the IRA in a couple of years.
“Blake(Nimee) looked strong in the beginning, but when we caught traffic, he went high and I saw a spot down low so I went for it and it worked,” said Thiel, joined by his young son Wyatt climbing the top wing in victory lane. “I was getting a little concerned when the red flag came out at the end, what it was going to do with the tires on the restart. I’ve got a great team and family, and tonight they were all here. This track is special with all of its IRA history and to win here means a lot.”
Thiel’s move to the front came 10 laps into the main after Blake Nimee of Oswego, IL led to that point including a caution five laps into the feature. IRA pointleader and 2021 Wilmot 410-Winged Outlaw Sprint Series Champion Jake Blackhurst of Hanna City, IL spun in turn two while battling for a top three spot with 13 laps to go. After the restart, one lap later, Blackhurst spun again, this time in turn four, bringing out a second caution which retired him to the pits.
With less than two laps to go, the red flag flew when Mike Decker flipped in turn three involving a couple of other cars.
Thiel was up to the challenge on the restart going on to the win. Mike Reinke of Howards Grove finished second. Beaver Dam’s Scott Nietzel third. Danny Schlafer of Gibson City fourth. Nimee ended up fifth.
The closest feature finish of the night came in the 20-lap Autometer/Brewington Electric Wisconsin Wingless Sprints feature. Greg Olsen of Round Lake Beach, IL caught Bristol’s Chris Klemko on the final lap coming out of turn four for the checkered flag. Olsen became the 11th different Wingless feature winner at Wilmot this season, by less than a car length. Klemko, who led the previous 19 laps, finished second. Oconomowoc’s Ryan Zielski, Wilmot’s 2021 Wingless Champion, was third. Burlington’s Mike Sullivan fourth. Clayton Rossmann of Wadsworth, IL fifth.
“We finally did it this year,” said Olsen. “The track was fast and the car was hooked up. It feels great to get the win, even on the final night. I have to thank my crew, sponsors, the great fans who come out.”
John Kirk of Johnsburg, Ill. became the fifth different IRA Lightning Sprints feature winner at Wilmot this season taking top honors in the 20-lap main. Early race leader Mitchell Reich of Waukegan, IL spun in turn one three laps into the main. Ron Brannam of Barrington, IL took over the top spot on the restart. Two laps later, with 15-laps remaining, Kirk shot to the inside in turn one to take the lead. Kirk pulled away to the finish for the victory. Derek Fortier of Franksville was second. Ron Brannam was third, his son, Tim Brannam of Holiday Hills, IL, fourth, and Tim’s son(Ron’s grandson) Max Brannam of Holiday Hills was fifth.
“It’s been a long time,” said Kirk, noting this was the third career feature win for him at Wilmot. Wilmot has been Kirk’s home track as he was crew chief for previous Wilmot and IRA Champion Dave Moulis, for several years before turning to driving. “This track is very special. Lots of great memories here. My wife is here and she can finally see me get a win. My son, Nathan, does a lot of work helping on the car. This is a great way to end the season at Wilmot.”
The only feature winner who previous had feature victories at Wilmot in 2021 was South Milwaukee’s Jay Orr who took top honors in the 20-lap Bandit 4-Cylinder Stock Cars main. Ernie Herlt of Grayslake, IL was second. Bob Andersen of Antioch, IL third. John Cole of McHenry, IL fourth. Patrick Riley of Twin Lakes fifth.
“The track was really fast,” said Orr, who scored his fourth feature win in five Wilmot starts this season. “The car wasn’t running the best, but I’ll take it.”
Wilmot Raceway will open its 2022 schedule sometime in the spring. Check the track website or the official Wilmot Raceway Facebook page for information and a planned schedule which is traditionally released sometime after the winter holidays.
Submitted by Michael H. Babicz (262-206-5465)

Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association
Beaver Dam Raceway
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Saturday, September 18, 2021

1. 10W-Mike Reinke, 12.795[15]
2. 73-Scotty Thiel, 12.859[19]
3. 39-Jake Blackhurst, 12.966[28]
4. 5J-Jeremy Schultz, 12.980[5]
5. 0-John Fahl, 13.025[23]
6. 79-Blake Nimee, 13.062[8]
7. 9K-Kyle Schuett, 13.066[22]
8. 23-Russel Borland, 13.082[16]
9. 2W-Scott Neitzel, 13.151[17]
10. 19-Ion Stear, 13.175[18]
11. 19B-Jack Berger, 13.228[2]
12. 25-Danny Schlafer, 13.229[24]
13. 68-Dave Uttech, 13.246[6]
14. 20R-Rob Pribnow, 13.273[10]
15. 4K-Kris Spitz, 13.312[9]
16. 65-Jordan Goldesberry, 13.328[26]
17. 29-Hunter Custer, 13.330[13]
18. 43-Jereme Schroeder, 13.382[3]
19. 56-Ryan Irwin, 13.467[25]
20. 73AF-Austin Hartmann, 13.825[20]
21. 70-Chris Klemko, 13.871[11]
22. 66-Nick Daywalt, 13.967[12]
23. 39D-Michael Decker, 14.097[21]
24. 15-Greg Olsen, 14.166[4]
25. 24-Scott Conger, 14.200[7]
26. 6K-Kurt Davis, 14.239[1]
27. 68T-Tyler Davis, 14.249[27]
28. 4-Jordan Paulsen, 14.302[14]
29. 83-Tom Spooner, 14.302[29]

Heat Race #1 (10 Laps)
1. 9K-Kyle Schuett[2]
2. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[3]
3. 10W-Mike Reinke[4]
4. 19-Ion Stear[1]
5. 65-Jordan Goldesberry[6]
6. 68-Dave Uttech[5]
7. 66-Nick Daywalt[8]
8. 24-Scott Conger[9]
9. 56-Ryan Irwin[7]
10. 4-Jordan Paulsen[10]

Heat Race #2 (10 Laps)
1. 73-Scotty Thiel[4]
2. 23-Russel Borland[2]
3. 19B-Jack Berger[1]
4. 0-John Fahl[3]
5. 20R-Rob Pribnow[5]
6. 29-Hunter Custer[6]
7. 73AF-Austin Hartmann[7]
8. 6K-Kurt Davis[9]
9. 39D-Michael Decker[8]

Heat Race #3 (10 Laps)
1. 2W-Scott Neitzel[2]
2. 25-Danny Schlafer[1]
3. 79-Blake Nimee[3]
4. 39-Jake Blackhurst[4]
5. 4K-Kris Spitz[5]
6. 70-Chris Klemko[7]
7. 43-Jereme Schroeder[6]
8. 15-Greg Olsen[8]
9. 68T-Tyler Davis[9]

Dash #1 (4 Laps)
1. 79-Blake Nimee[2]
2. 10W-Mike Reinke[1]
3. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[3]
4. 23-Russel Borland[4]
5. 0-John Fahl[5]

Dash #2 (4 Laps)
1. 73-Scotty Thiel[1]
2. 2W-Scott Neitzel[2]
3. 39-Jake Blackhurst[5]
4. 9K-Kyle Schuett[4]
5. 19-Ion Stear[3]

B-Main (12 Laps)
1. 66-Nick Daywalt[4]
2. 43-Jereme Schroeder[1]
3. 73AF-Austin Hartmann[3]
4. 24-Scott Conger[6]
5. 39D-Michael Decker[8]
6. 6K-Kurt Davis[7]
7. 15-Greg Olsen[5]
8. 4-Jordan Paulsen[10]
9. 68T-Tyler Davis[9]

A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 73-Scotty Thiel[2]
2. 10W-Mike Reinke[3]
3. 2W-Scott Neitzel[4]
4. 25-Danny Schlafer[11]
5. 79-Blake Nimee[1]
6. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[5]
7. 23-Russel Borland[7]
8. 65-Jordan Goldesberry[15]
9. 20R-Rob Pribnow[13]
10. 19B-Jack Berger[12]
11. 9K-Kyle Schuett[8]
12. 0-John Fahl[9]
13. 4K-Kris Spitz[14]
14. 70-Chris Klemko[18]
15. 68-Dave Uttech[16]
16. 29-Hunter Custer[17]
17. 6K-Kurt Davis[24]
18. 43-Jereme Schroeder[20]
19. 24-Scott Conger[22]
20. 66-Nick Daywalt[19]
21. 19-Ion Stear[10]
22. 39D-Michael Decker[23]
23. 73AF-Austin Hartmann[21]
24. 39-Jake Blackhurst[6]