Easum Wins OCRS Feature at Oklahoma Sports Park

Terry Easum Photo by Kacee

by John Rittenoure
ADA, Okla. (April 9, 2022) – After a couple of nights of costly engine failures Terry Easum was more than ready to see things turn around. And that happened Saturday at Oklahoma Sports Park.

Easum drove his Premier Self Storage sprinter into the early lead and went the 25-lap distance to win the AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car main event.

Easum became the sixth different winner in six nights of racing.

“It has been awhile,” said Easum who had not won since 2021. “We had some bad luck the past few weeks. I think we got it turned around now.”

The tough luck started last month at Lawton.

“We broke a motor,” Easum said. “The block started leaking. Just a freak deal. But Greg Meyers got it fixed up for us.

“At Thunderbird it would not run and we had an issue there. It has been one thing after another.”

“Hopefully this is the turning point for the year.”

When the green flag dropped on the main event Zach Chappell chased Easum for the first lap before giving way to Whit Gastineau. Gastineau closed some on Easum but pulled out on lap 10 with engine problems. Blake Scott took over second but could not close on Easum. Sheldon Barksdale charged from 10th to third earning him the D&G Contracting Hard Charger award. Points leader Blake Edwards finished fourth and defending champion Joe Bob Lee was fifth.

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Cars
Oklahoma Sports Park – Ada, Okla.
April 9, 2022
Oil Capital Racing Series
Oklahoma Sports Park
Ada, Oklahoma
Saturday, April 9, 2022

Schure Built Suspensions Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 55W-Danny Wood[2]
2. 50Z-Zach Chappell[4]
3. 22M-Rees Moran[3]
4. 17E-Blake Edwards[5]
5. 07-Michael Bookout[1]
6. 15-Jack Potter[6]
7. 12M-Mitchell Barros[7]

Lightning Wings Powder Coating Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 29S-Blake Scott[2]
2. 55-Johnny Kent[4]
3. 26M-Fred Mattox[1]
4. 83-Jett Hays[3]
5. 33-Gary Owens[5]
6. 51-Ryan Dean[7]
7. 88R-Ryder Laplante[6]

Smith Titanium Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 88-Terry Easum[2]
2. 2-Whit Gastineau[4]
3. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[1]
4. 5-Joe Bob Lee[3]
5. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[5]
6. 17-Brandon Haddad[6]

AmeriFlex Hose Accessories A-Main (25 Laps)
1. 88-Terry Easum[1]
2. 29S-Blake Scott[3]
3. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[10]
4. 17E-Blake Edwards[8]
5. 5-Joe Bob Lee[12]
6. 26M-Fred Mattox[9]
7. 22M-Rees Moran[6]
8. 33-Gary Owens[13]
9. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[14]
10. 83-Jett Hays[11]
11. 88R-Ryder Laplante[18]
12. 07-Michael Bookout[16]
13. 51-Ryan Dean[15]
14. 50Z-Zach Chappell[2]
15. 12M-Mitchell Barros[20]
16. 2-Whit Gastineau[5]
17. 55W-Danny Wood[4]
18. 55-Johnny Kent[7]
19. 15-Jack Potter[17]
20. 17-Brandon Haddad[19]