Dussel, Ruhlman, and Schneider Win at Fremont

Nate Dussel. (Action photo)

By Aaron Fry
FREMONT, Ohio (May 29, 2022) Current Ti22 Performance FAST On Dirt points leader, Nate Dussel, charged from 10th to win and stretch his point lead in a thrilling slide job battle. Then, racing veteran Brian Ruhlman needed only 2 laps to establish the quick way around the very slick and smooth Fremont Speedway scoring his first career tour win in the MPD Racing Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series.

Craig Mintz set overall fast time among the 31 entries for FAST during flight A of ARP Fasteners qualifying, while D.J. Foos led the field in flight B. BOSS qualifying saw 3 heat race groups with Cody White, Chad Ruhlman and Blake Vermillion showing the quickest way around the 1/3 mile dirt oval. Heat races for the FAST tour were won by Jordan Ryan, Zeth Sabo, Lee Jacobs and Justin Clark. Ryan’s win in NAPA of Fremont heat 1 was most impressive, after missing the invert and starting 5th.

Next up were the three BOSS heats won by Carmen Perigo, Luke Hall and Brian Ruhlman. Jesse Vermillion had an impressive 6th to 2nd run in TCB Speed heat one. Matt Westfall put on the show in TheCushion.com heat 3 by charging from 8th to 3rd. The winged 410 FAST sprint cars necessitated an MSD Ignitions B-Main, which was won by Cole Macedo over Chris Andrews, T.J Michael, Ricky Peterson, John Ivy and Byron Reed.

Finally, the winged warriors of FAST were ready for 30 laps on the “Track That Action Built”. Zeth Sabo and Darin Naida brought the 22 car field to the green flag. Sabo grabbed the early lead and it was sixth starting Jordan Ryan who posed the early threat. Sabo began to inch away as the race stayed green. Tenth starting Nate Dussel was on the prowl coming through the pack. The lone caution would fly on lap 21 when Mitch Harble stopped on the backstretch.

On the restart, Sabo continued to show the way, but Dussel had wrestled the runner-up spot and set his sights on the leader. With a handful of laps remaining, Dussel got by for the lead. However, Sabo go “up in the seat” and roared back, repeatedly taking jabs at the top spot. The duo raced side by side off turn 2 on lap 23, but Dussel raced into the lead for good and cruised on to the win. Sabo held off a late charging Lee Jacobs, completing a podium sweep for Ti22 Performance FAST On Dirt tour regulars. Rounding out the top 5 were D.J. Foos and Craig Mintz. The balance of the top 10 included Jordan Ryan, Trey Jacobs, Cole Macedo, Stuart Brubaker and 22nd starting Byron Reed.

In the MPD Racing BOSS main event, Brian Ruhlman and Carmen Perigo brough the field thundering to the green flag. Perigo snagged the early lead, showing the way through the first 2 circuits. Ruhlman was right there, challenging Perigo immediately, utilizing the very inside lane of the track surface. After taking the lead on the third lap, Ruhlman proceeded to put on a clinic in patience and finesse, leading the final 23 circuits. It was 11th starting Matt Westfall who had the crowd on the edge of their seats as the non-stop green flag conditions lent no help in his run to finish in the runner-up spot. Brian Ruhlman’s brother, Chad Ruhlman, completed the podium in his first ever appearance with BOSS. Jesse Vermillion had his best career tour finish coming home fourth with Cody White rounding out the top 5. Completing the top 10 were Blake Vermillion, Dustin Ingle, Lee Underwood, Drew Rader and Carmen Perigo.

BOSS and FAST return next weekend, June 3rd and 4th in a pair of doubleheader events at the I-96 Speedway near Lake Odessa, Michigan. Both tours will run complete shows each night. FAST point leader, Nate Dussel will lead the FAST stars into battle. The rest of the points, in order, includes Lee Jacobs, Zeth Sabo, Ntahn Skaggs, Ricky Peterson, Sean Rayhall, Justin Clark, Mitch Harble, Jordan Harble and Jordan Ryan. On the BOSS side, Jesse Vermillion has the early season championship standings lead over Dustin Ingle, Brian Ruhlman, Saban Bibent, Blake Vermillion, Ricky Lewis, Paul Dues, Cody White, Lee Underwood and Luke Hall.

Fremont Speedway
Fremont, Ohio
Saturday, May 28, 2022

FAST 410 Sprint Car Series

1. 1-Nate Dussel
2. 29-Zeth Sabo
3. 81-Lee Jacobs
4. 16-DJ Foos
5. 09-Craig Mintz
6. 25R-Jordan Ryan
7. 3J-Trey Jacobs
8. 18-Cole Macedo
9. 35-Stuart Brubaker
10. 5-Byron Reed
11. 19-Justin Clark
12. 12G-Corbin Gurley
13. 49I-John Ivy
14. 7N-Darin Naida
15. 9-Ricky Peterson
16. 7T-Troy Vaccaro
17. 14-Sean Rayhall
18. 22M-Dan McCarron
19. 8M-TJ Michael
20. 41-Thomas Schinderle
21. 15-Mitch Harble
22. 23-Chris Andrews

Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series

1. 49-Brian Ruhlman
2. 33M-Matt Westfall
3. 94C-Chad Ruhlman
4. 5V-Jesse Vermillion
5. 26W-Cody White
6. 73-Blake Vermillion
7. 2DI-Dustin Ingle
8. 24L-Lee Underwood
9. 74-Drew Rader
10. 21-Carmen Perigo
11. 68G-Tyler Gunn
12. 11L-Ricky Lewis
13. 53-Steve Little
14. 87-Paul Dues
15. 9N-Luke Hall
16. 3J-Trey Jacobs
17. 10-Saban Bibent
18. 20-Tayte Williamson
19. 9G-Cody Gardner
20. 14-Chad Wilson
21. 11-Mike Thompson
22. 1M-Mike Moore
23. 44-Tom Davies
24. 0-Steve Irwin

Winged 305 Sprint Cars

1. 36-Seth Schneider
2. 7M-Brandon Moore
3. 31-Paul Weaver
4. 12-Matt Foos
5. 5K-Kasey Jedrzejek
6. 19R-Steve Rando
7. 61-Tyler Shullick
8. X-Mike Keegan
9. 9R-Logan Riehl
10. 26-Jamie Miller
11. 8-Bobby Clark
12. 20i-Kelsey Ivy
13. 32-Bryce Lucius
14. 15k-Creed Kemenah
15. 10X-Dustin Stroup
16. 5-Kody Brewer
17. 2-Brenden Torok
18. 78-Austin Black
19. 10TS-Tyler Schiets
20. 28-Shawn Valenti