O’Reilly Auto Parts All Star Circuit of Champions to kick off Ohio region at Attica’s Spring Nationals

2011 Attica Raceway Park logo

By Brian Liskai

ATTICA, Ohio (4-4-11) – The possibilities of who might show
up to compete at the traditional HD Supply Spring Nationals at Attica
Raceway Park on Friday and Saturday, April 8 and 9 has fans across the
Midwest eagerly anticipating the event that will kick off the O’Reilly Auto
Parts All Star Circuit of Champions’ Ohio Region.

Some of the drivers are a given, like two-time and defending All Star
champion and winner of the 2010 Knoxville Nationals Tim Shaffer. The Steel
City Outlaw already has a win with the All Stars at Ocala, Florida, and
after his run at Attica’s season opener on April 1 – from 12th starting
spot to a fourth place and closing finish – he certainly has to be
considered the driver to beat. There’s also two time series’ champion Greg
Wilson, who owns wins in the Spring Nationals in 2002, 2003 and 2006, and
three-time All Star champion Dale Blaney, who has taken Spring National
victories in 1995, 2007 and 2009. Add 2010 Ohio Sprint Speedweek champion
David Gravel, who has started the season strong with several top five runs,
including against the World of Outlaws, and 2010 All Star Rookie of the
Year Cap Henry, and the excitement grows.

Then there’s the tough Attica weekly competitors including six-time track
champion Byron Reed, who claimed two All Star wins at the track in 2010 and
owns Spring Nationals victories in 2001 and last year. Add Dean Jacobs, who
took the track’s opening night feature win, Phil Gressman, who ran
consistent top fives against the All Stars in 2010, Craig Mintz, another
top five competitor when the All Stars come to town, a veteran like Danny
Smith (a 1996 and 2005 Spring Nationals winner) and young guns such as Kyle
Sauder, Kevin Lee, Cole Duncan, Brandon Martin and Bryan Sebetto, and the
recipe for an epic battle thickens.

And while the All Stars verses the Attica regulars is intriguing, throw in
the likes of many-time Knoxville Raceway winner and Nationals victor and
former World of Outlaws champion Danny “The Dude” Lasoski; young
up-and-comer Mark Dobmeier; Tony Stewart Racing star Jessica Zemken; and
Indiana rising star Miranda Throckmorton, who, in 2007 became the first
woman to win a non-wing 410 sprint car feature in the country…wow!

But, the list isn’t complete. There’s the possibility of one of the hottest
sprint car drivers in the country, former World of Outlaw champion and
current All Star point leader Sammy Swindell, who swept the All Star events
at Volusia in February and has already posted two World of Outlaw victories
this season. Or maybe some Pennsylvania stars like Daryn Pittman, who sits
second in the All Star points; Stevie Smith, who owns a win on the tough
Central Pennsylvania circuit already in 2011 and is a 2005 Spring Nationals
victor; Lance Dewease, also a Pennsylvania winner so far in 2011 and a 2008
Spring Nationals victor; many time Lernerville track champion Ed Lynch Jr.;
and 2010 Lernerville titlist young charger Danny Holtgraver.

Then there are the “wild card” possibilities like many-time Knoxville
Raceway track champion Terry “T-Mac” McCarl, a 2006 Attica Spring Nationals
winner, and Sam Hafertepe Jr., who scored perhaps the biggest win of his
young career recently by taking the ASCS Spring Nationals victory at
Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

“This early in the season, a lot of teams want to get out and see how good
they stack up and a two-day show like the HD Supply Spring Nationals gives
them a tremendous opportunity,” said Rex LeJeune, Attica Raceway Park’s
Director of Operations.

“The Spring Nationals has been one of the most exciting early season races
in the country. You have a very strong contingent of local racers, our
tough series’ drivers and then you throw in some surprise competitors and
it is a ‘must see’ event,” added Guy Webb, President of the All Stars.

Competing with the All Star sprints on Friday night will be the Fultz
Fabrications and Speed Shop UMP Late Models. Pit gates will open at 4 p.m.
with grandstands opening to fans at 5 p.m. and racing underway at 7:45 p.m.

The Fremont Fence 305 Sprints will join the All Stars on Saturday night’s
racing card (the late models also if Friday night’s show is rained out).
Pit gates will open at 3:30 p.m. with grandstands opening at 4 p.m. and
racing underway at 7 p.m.

Previous Attica Spring National winners.

1992: Frank Kerr/Frank Kerr

1993: Mark Keegan/rain

1994: Mark Keegan/Frank Kerr

1995: Dale Blaney/Joey Saldana

1996: Bobby Teeple/Danny Smith

1997: Gary Wright/Butch Schroeder

1998: Jeff Shepard/Frank Kerr

1999: Kenny Jacobs/rain

2000: Craig Dollansky/rain

2001: Byron Reed/Rain

2002: Greg Wilson/Jeff Shepard

2003: Chad Kemenah/Greg Wilson

2004: Chad Kemenah/rain

2005: Stevie Smith/Danny Smith

2006: Terry McCarl/Greg Wilson

2007: Brock Mayes/Dale Blaney

2008: Lance Dewease

2009: Dale Blaney/rain

2010: rain/Byron Reed

For more information go to www.atticaracewaypark.com or