Timberline and Texarkana on tap for Lone Star Region

Bryan Hulbert
TULSA, Okla. (May 7, 2013) The Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region will take center stage in the ASCS Nation this coming weekend as the series heads for new ground at the Timberline Speedway in Crowley, Texas on Friday, May 10 before returning to the Sixty-Seven Texarkana Speedway on Saturday, May 11.ASCS American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region Logo Tease

Going into this weekend’s events, Matt Covington currently holds at 29 point advantage over Patrick Stasa in regional standings with Shawn Petersen, Seth Bergman, and Blake Hahn making up the top five. A difference of 78 markers stands between the top five drivers.

Of the drivers in the top five, Seth Bergman, so far, is the only driver in 2013 with wins to his credit in the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region. Tony Bruce, Jr. and Kyle Bellm make up the list of winners thus far.

Built in 2012, the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region added the Timberline Speedway to its slate last week. The May 10 date will be the first time Sprint Cars have graced the three-eighths mile oval in open competition.  In addition to the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region, the Friday date will included Modifieds, Limited Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Novice, and Super Stocks.  Gates at the Timberline Speedway will open at 4:00 P.M. (CT) with races at 8:00 P.M. Additional information can be found at http://www.timberlinespeedway.com.

The Sixty-Seven Texarkana Speedway will be the site of competition on Saturday, May 11. The region competed three of the scheduled four dates in 2012, with one night falling to rain. In the three nights that were contested, Matt Covington (7/13/2012), Koty Adams (9/7/2012), and Jake Martens (9/8/2012) each earned victories at the quarter-mile oval.  Saturday, May 11 will include Modifieds, Factory Stocks, Limited Modifieds, Novice, and Sport Compact in addition to the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region. Gates open at 5:00 P.M. (CT) with races beginning at 7:30 P.M. Additional information can be found at http://www.67speedway.com.

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.